Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this cake! Great use for fresh figs. I have so many fresh figs I am freezing them in pre-measured bags for this recipe and hope it will still taste as great in the months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Even with only 1/4 tsp of almond, I thought the almond flavor was a little strong. Next time I will only use 1/8 tsp, or omit altogether. I'd also like to try it with the figs pureed, as a couple of other reviewers suggested. We really enjoyed this cake (without the fruit topping) warm, with a little butter on top (like cornbread or banana bread). All in all, a great way to use up some of our fig abundance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGIEQ
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was great for the last of the figs that I picked off of my fig tree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIEQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
wonderfully moist; added pumpkin pie spice, splenda/sugar blend, 50/50smart balance, extra figs; decorated top with flower shaped cut fig; best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalamazoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I followed another reviewers advice, to blend the figs and added a very ripe plum. I replaced the butter with olive oil. I also used half whole wheat flour/half white flour. Very moist and fruity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This cake is scone-like and delicious. I've made it with both yellow-skinned, brown centered figs and green skinned, red-centered figs and its equaly good. (green ones are more mellow but the yellow has nice sharp figgy flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Low sugar - I made the cake alone with no filling and used 2 cups of figs, artificial brown sugar and 1/3 the white sugar. It came out a bit doughy, but as a low/no sugar eater, I enjoyed it, but next time I'll just use the figs in my low sugar zucchini bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Ok, I don't understand what happened with my cake . . . cakes. I followed the recipe to the T and did not get the results everyone got. Like every one says it is an easy and quick batter however both times the cake looked beautiful on the outside, the toothpick came out clean, yet when I cut it the inside was gummy and it tasted raw. I did this recipe twice thinking the first time the bundt cake pans I used (only thing I modified) were to thick. Than I tried the 8 inch rounds and it was also bad. I am so disappointed because the cake had potential. Can it be the type of figs I used? Who know, the filling on the other hand made for a good marmalade, so that did not go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
An excellent way to use fresh figs. No matter what time I make it, this cake is not around long enough to see the next sunrise. I think the variable juiciness of fresh figs may give different results each time, so you have to be flexible when making it. I leave out the water in the fig topping and use a little more lemon juice, sometimes some zest. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Although this cake did not come out quite right when I made it, it still tasted delicious. I suspect most of my problem was taking the advice of other reviewers. As I wanted more of a dessert cake than a coffee cake, I took the advice of the two reviewers who suggested increasing from 1 to 2 cups of chopped figs in the batter and pureeing those figs with the evaporated milk before adding to the batter. Unfortunately, this made the batter so dense, the layers hardly rose. Plus, I burned the outer edges and bottom while trying to get the middle to cook. Every time I stuck a toothpick in the middle, it came out with crumbs so I kept baking until I realized I'd ruin the cake if I kept going. I had to cut off the sides and bottoms to get rid of the burnt areas while the middle was still mildly soft. I don't think pureeing the figs is such a bad idea, but I'd leave it at 1 cup in the batter, not 2. I still made the filling/topping, layered the cake with it, and just cut the cake into bars so as not to waste it. Despite all my troubles, the bars were still delicious. I'd definitely make this cake again, but will stick closer to the original recipe and ignore the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States