Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
loved this for using up my fresh figs. Did not have enough for the filling so made up the difference with blueberries. It was wonderful! It really needs some type of topping, though, or I thought it was a little dry. My favorite was to eat it in a bowl with a little milk or better yet half and half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alisoncreamer
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Super easy and super GOOD , Love this it will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Love this. Friend gave me a containerof fresh figs and didn't know what to do with them. Whipped this up in a jiffy. Only had two cups chopped so used one for cake and one for filling --which I used for topping as I baked in 13x9 pan. If I make this again I will put figs in food processor to make smoother looking. Out of lemons so used 1T white vinegar-perfect. Loved this cake--am going to try it with peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe! I had an abundance of figs and this was a great way to use them. I'm considering making some cakes and freezing them for later use-it's that good and I have that many figs! Also, this recipe would work well with nearly ANY fruit, the basic cake batter would enhance any flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I never ate figs before but saw lots at the farmer's market so I picked some up and made this cake, now my husband asks me to make it every time we see figs. :) Very tasty, I'd probably add some cinnamon and allspice next time. Excellent with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
it's really weierd how a cake with a cup of butter or more comes out dry nd this one came out so0o moist,sweet and healthy!I halved the recipe and used one really small egg and used 6 muffins tin and i had some batter left so i guess half the recipe is enough for 8 muffines! i found the sauce unnessacery or it needs WAY more sugar to thicken like a jam! i'll do it again and again (without the sauce)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by knitten1
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
When I made this recipe, I used slightly more figs than called for, substituted one vanilla bean for the extract and baked it in a Bundt pan for about 40 minutes. I dusted the outside with powdered sugar before serving, and the cake was gone within a day! This is a great recipe, especially if you prefer a lightly sweetened cake. The texture was light and the fresh figs were the star of the show! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was a big hit at my house. My husband had seconds and he isn't a big fan of figs. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. I served the topped the cake with the filling as i served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Just okay! The cake was very moist but I didn't like the lemon flavor in the filling. It overpowered the figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Everyone in my family LOVED this cake! Great use for fresh figs. I have so many fresh figs I am freezing them in pre-measured bags for this recipe and hope it will still taste as great in the months to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States