Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a easy and delicious cake! I didn't have two eight inch pans so I just made in my 9x13 and cut in half! The only suggestion I would make is to double the filling to put half in between the layers and serve the rest on the side! I also added two cups figs to my batter! Delicious! Reminiscent of a fig newton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VOSSNER
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
For sauce, mash rather than chop figs otherwise too lumpy. Like many, my cakes were dense (see pic) but it tasted good. So I cut my cakes in squares and drizzled w/ fig sauce. It really tastes like fig newtons. I will make it again b/c I have a fig tree and there doesn't seem to be too many other fresh figs recipes around, but I don't rate it 5 stars b/ too many elements might affect how this cake comes out, i.e. fig ripeness, using butter vs oil in batter, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I am new to cooking with fresh figs and I choose this recipe to try out first. This cake is to die for... and great way to use my fresh figs!! I'm not always one to follow directions, I did not use rounds cake pans, I used four small loaf pans. Although, I did follow the recipe. This cake is sweet but, not too sweet. The flavor of the almond and the figs are very complimentary. Could definitely see this at the end of any Southern meal, at a Brunch, Bake Sale or for Gifting. Even if you don't like figs, you'll like this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrifavor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
very good! Would make a great breakfast cake too. Added a little cinnamon to the sauce. Also next time I think I"ll add more figs than it calls for in the cake itself as one reviewer did and said the flavors just popped out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I thought this cake was good but not great. I think I would have liked it better without the glaze/fig filling as that made it a little too sweet for me. I think the cake would be great with some walnuts in it with a cup of coffee. Yum. But overall it was a great use of over-ripe figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This cake turned out to be a pleasant surprise! I used 1 lb. of fresh figs which equaled 3 cups needed for this recipe. The figs are in season towards the end of summer and are around $5.99 a pound. The deepest darkest purple figs are the ripest and juiciest. I chopped the figs up, with skin on, and combined them into the batter as well as the filling mixture. I used buttermilk in place of evaporated. The change I made was to bake this in a bundt pan. I placed a thin layer of batter in the greased bundt pan, added the cooled filling, then topped that with the rest of the batter. I baked this at 325 degrees for 50 minutes. I enjoyed the sweet smell of the figs baking up in the oven. The cake cooked thoroughly and I placed it aside for 35 minutes until it was luke warm/cool to the touch. The cake is a nice light golden color with brown edges. It is a moist, tender and flavorful cake with the right amount of everything! It is somewhat dense and I had a mouthful of sweet figs in every bite. The edges have a slight tender crisp to it and I can see the layer of fig filling in the cake when sliced. This tastes like Nabisco Fig Newton Bars, only BETTER and TASTIER - and in a cake! We ate more than half of the cake up while it was still luke warm. It is not often I come across a "fig cake," and I am glad that I did because this turned out to be a real treat for all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I made this as 25 cupcakes with 1/2 the topping. Baked for 18-25 minutes and at 115 calories or less each they were heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattinyc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Just made this cake with the bounty of fresh figs shared by a neighbor. I made a 3rd layer to finish up the rest of the can of evaporated milk and the extra figs. WOW! This recipe is a keeper! As others have said, it is not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I never make cakes from scratch, but because I had some fresh figs that needed to be used ASAP I searched for an easy recipe and this is the one I thought sounded easy enough & good tasting....I picked the right one. Didn't have any round cake pans so I used 9X13 glass pan. Baked the same amount of time and came out great. Poked holes in the top of baked cake and then spread the sauce on top. I did add 1/4 cup of walnuts to the top of cake before I put in oven to bake. Very tasty and not to overly sweet. Also used "french vanilla" flavored frozen whipped topping to serve. My husband and I both agreed that this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harlan, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I work for an elderly woman who has an enormous fig tree. We are always looking for new recipes to use the figs. I tried this a week ago. Although she liked it she asked me to make another using 2 cups of figs in the cake. I did and what a difference! Super moist and definitely more fig flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States