Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good cake. A nice way to use up all those figs. I pretty much stuck to the recipe. Made cake in a bundt pan, very nice presentation when sliced. Filling sat perfectly in the middle of cake. The only ingredient I changed was using a squeeze of orange instead of lemon juice in the filling....didn't realize I was out of lemons! It didn't seem to make a difference. Big hit everyone devoured it at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen S
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious way to use some of these figs we are getting right now. I did double the sugar in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this using white wheat flour, egg replacer, coconut oil, and canned coconut milk and it turned out great, despite being vegan-ized :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Flesher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My husband loves fresh figs but I just can't bring myself to eat a fresh fig. At any rate, my MIL brought my husband some figs and I found this recipe today. I made the cake per the recipe but baked it in 9 in round pans until the toothpick came out clean. I doubled the fig filling but didn't quite use it all. This cake was good a nd moist. Topped it with a dollop of whipped cream which lightened it. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeychile
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Inspired by my Brown Turkey fig tree's bumper crop of early summer figs (the breba crop), I scouted around for something to do with this windfall. My sister pointed me toward this recipe. As others have said, this is an uncomplicated, delicious cake that relies on its simplicity. Everything I thought of to "improve" the recipe, I believe would just make it more like other cakes, rendering it mundane and predictable. The cake is dense, almost bread-like, much like the "sweet spot" that occurs when a cake falls. There's not much leavening in this cake—a little baking powder and an egg—so don't expect thick layers. Be careful not to overcook the cake; mine never got "golden brown" on the top despite cooking it an extra few minutes. I noticed that the sides were starting to pull back from the pan and it was indeed done. The cake is delicious warm or cold and in addition to dessert, it makes a fine weekend breakfast served alone or with a wedge of cheese or a sausage. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeychile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
We loved this cake. Very dense and moist. I added cinnamon and ground cloves for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I changed the recipe a bit and made it into an upside down fig cake. Followed the basics of the cake recipe. It turned out beautifully. Served with fresh clotted cream.....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I've made this twice, since we had an abundance of figs this year. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly, and while it was good, it was a bit heavy, almost gummy. It is not a light cake. The second time, I froze one of the layers, and just made half the topping for the other layer. While it was still a dense cake, this worked better for us. My husband, who is not a sweets-lover, really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My family loved it. We made it into a bundt cake and drizzled melted chocolate and butterscotch on top. The figs add a wonderful, fresh, unique flavor and we were thrilled to find this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I cannot express how wonderful this cake is. I only had a few figs so I used 1/2 cup of white figs in the batter and made the filling with 1 cup of purple figs. It was the most beautiful cake batter I've ever seen; white with little pink flecks and seeds. I simply put the filling on each cake layer and served them separately. I am from the Philly area, and the great foods around here are cheesesteaks, Philly pretzels and Tastykakes, a line of packaged snack cakes like Hostess. My boyfriend told me the cake tastes like the Tastykake Jelly Krimpet, a local favorite and possibly the highest compliment he could give. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States