Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made a mistake and put the 1/4 cup brown sugar in the batter which made it a little hard to get out of the pan. Otherwise this recipe is perfect. Don't change a thing! I'm not sure if everyone did this but I put the fig topping on while everything was still warm. Super moist cake. Delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Brown Pickett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lxmonge
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe except I baked it in a bundt pan for 50 minutes. The cake was delicious! My kids and boyfriend devoured it!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is really great! I made it gluten free by substituting in all purpose GF flour and 1 tsp xanthum gum (of course, you need GF almond and vanilla extract as well). This cake tastes like a fig newton, but in cake form! Really yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crisarlin
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I substituted some ingredients of this recipient to make it dairy and gluten free. I used gluten free all purpose flour, coconut milk and coconut sugar. The cake came out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crisarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
outstanding....i was a little hesitant about no icing, and a gooey fig spread on top, but wow, it was delicious. only thing i changed was using splenda blend vs sugar, as my husband is diabetic. he loved this cake, too. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good cake. A nice way to use up all those figs. I pretty much stuck to the recipe. Made cake in a bundt pan, very nice presentation when sliced. Filling sat perfectly in the middle of cake. The only ingredient I changed was using a squeeze of orange instead of lemon juice in the filling....didn't realize I was out of lemons! It didn't seem to make a difference. Big hit everyone devoured it at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen S
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious way to use some of these figs we are getting right now. I did double the sugar in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this using white wheat flour, egg replacer, coconut oil, and canned coconut milk and it turned out great, despite being vegan-ized :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
My husband loves fresh figs but I just can't bring myself to eat a fresh fig. At any rate, my MIL brought my husband some figs and I found this recipe today. I made the cake per the recipe but baked it in 9 in round pans until the toothpick came out clean. I doubled the fig filling but didn't quite use it all. This cake was good a nd moist. Topped it with a dollop of whipped cream which lightened it. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeychile
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Inspired by my Brown Turkey fig tree's bumper crop of early summer figs (the breba crop), I scouted around for something to do with this windfall. My sister pointed me toward this recipe. As others have said, this is an uncomplicated, delicious cake that relies on its simplicity. Everything I thought of to "improve" the recipe, I believe would just make it more like other cakes, rendering it mundane and predictable. The cake is dense, almost bread-like, much like the "sweet spot" that occurs when a cake falls. There's not much leavening in this cake—a little baking powder and an egg—so don't expect thick layers. Be careful not to overcook the cake; mine never got "golden brown" on the top despite cooking it an extra few minutes. I noticed that the sides were starting to pull back from the pan and it was indeed done. The cake is delicious warm or cold and in addition to dessert, it makes a fine weekend breakfast served alone or with a wedge of cheese or a sausage. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeychile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States