Fresh Cranberry Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was just great! I will reduce the sugar a little bit next time. Everyone loved it as is, including my boyfriend who loves the canned cranberry sauce. Personally I liked the very orangy taste, and you can still taste the cranberry. Update: When I first made this recipe it was different. There were no apples, pineapple or mandarin oranges. Maybe it was a different recipe. Anyway, the recipe I have been using it one package cranberries and one whole navel orange ground in a food processor adding sugar to taste. Remember that is will get sweeter the longer it sits so be conservative as first. I also sometimes add freshly ground ginger to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahWild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Love it! Very healthy, flavorful, and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookychef
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this relish for Thanksgiving dinner. My family is used to having the sweet marshmellow/jello-ish cranberry dish. I wanted to try something with fresh cranberries, so this was the recipe for me. I made the recipe as is, and it turned out really good. My family really seemed to enjoy it, as I was asked for the recipe. It was easy to make. I made this a day in advance and only added a little surgar. It reminded me of a fruit salsa. I was toying with the idea of adding a jalapeno and maybe some cilantro to the left overs, but didn't have any available. I think it would make a very interesting fruit salsa for the holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is the cranberry sauce I grew up with except ours had cranberries, an orange, a can of pineapple, and almost a cup of sugar. Sometimes we would add pecans! Delicious and so easy! I definitely recommend it on fresh warm rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
The flavor was interesting, but my family didn't really care for it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
sweet, tart, and tangy! Easy to make - and it makes quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Next time, I too will use only one apple, and also one can of mandarins. I will also use the sliced and not crushed pineapple. Make sure to drain all fruits as much as possible. I will also chop the fruit next time, and add the addition of some nuts, and more brown sugar to taste. I added some red food coloring to make it look more like cranberry relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy L. Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was an interesting dish. It was yummy but really only tasted like apples. I will probably make this again but with one less apple. The only problem is my kids thought it looked gross so they wouldn't even touch the stuff...lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I made this recipe last year, and making it again - it's a keeper. Everyone loved it, even my kids! Thanks, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving and Christmas and it has been requested again this year. I also had to add some extra sugar and strain it a little more to keep it from being too runny. Otherwise, an absolutely delicious cranberry sauce alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States