Fresh Corn and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
My husband and I enjoyed this a lot. I changed the prep. a bit. Instead of sauteeing corn (used frozen) I mixed all ingredients together and baked. Added one green onion; used low fat marg. and turkey bacon; omitted salt. Very flavorful and would be great for a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This was good the day I made it but the leftovers were soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
Kudos Ronda. My husband and I loved this recipe. The only thing I'll do differently the next time is peel the tomatoes. The skin is tough after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Oh, my goodness! I have tried many recipes from allrecipes but this is by far the very best dish I have made and I have to be honest, while I love both corn and tomatoes I never would have thought of using them together in a dish this way. I really can't say enough good things about it but I ll try with a few: every bite tastes like a little bit of summer in your mouth. So good. I made it exactly as written with 2 exceptions. I added pepper and 2 sliced green onions which I layered along with the tomatoes and corn. Oh, and I did not melt the butter beforehand, just put it in the skillet with the corn to cook briefly as recommended. I guess that makes 3 things I did slightly differently but I just thought of one more: I only made 2 layers and I did not wind up with tomatoes, but sprinkled remaining corn/green onions on top. Oh, yeah. I almost forgot that I only baked it for like 25 minutes and that was plenty of time. My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this dish again. We only had a small amount left over (which I had for lunch the next day), so I would say this would feed 2-3 people. What a perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Poston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Very tasty, I added some chopped onion to the cornwhile cooking it before the baking process. I made individual servings in small gratin dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
The tomatoes and corn came staght from the farm. The casserole was very good but there was too much liquid. I will thcken the corn and tomato juices before putting them into thc asserole next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great. Didn't change a thing - it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe was very colorful, but lacked a blended flavor. It tasted like corn, tomatoes and bacon, but not the "casserole type" flavor like I had hoped. I think it would turn out better with crushed tomatoes (rather than fresh sliced)and fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! An absolute must to use the fresh corn cut off the cob. This dish is about the sweetness and the delicate crunch you get from the corn. Don't be afraid of the bacon, it is just a gentle added flavor, in no way overpowering. I added a small amount of minced onion. I must say, although I did peel the tomatoes, they didn't add anything to the dish other than color. I would probably leave them out next time or chop them so they are easier to eat. This recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I loved it...instead of butter I sauted the corn in the bacon drippings (dairy allergy for some at the party) Plan to try with frozen corn out of season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States