Fresh Corn and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is the bomb. We changed it up a little bit though. Used canned corn and canned tomatoes. Added some ranch dressing to the top and some mexican cheese. It ended up being amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe with grilled hamburgers last night. All fresh, with tomatoes straight from the garden. Reviews indicated "tough" tomato skins prepared this way, so I peeled and diced them, draining some of the juices as I went along. I was in a rush, so I just mixed the tomatoes in with the corn and bacon, rather than layering it all. Sprinkled some Parmesan on top before baking, covered. As a side note, I had 6 ears of corn, and it yielded 7 heaping cups -- not "4 or 5 cups." That was fine -- more "goodness" to eat. This is one of those wonderful recipes that you can play with and add various spices and other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I've been getting fresh corn from the farmer's market (ewww, to the worms) and using my husband's heirloom tomatoes and I love this. The 2nd time I made this I added black pepper, fresh parsley and 2 green onions to the skillet along with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Oh, my goodness! I have tried many recipes from allrecipes but this is by far the very best dish I have made and I have to be honest, while I love both corn and tomatoes I never would have thought of using them together in a dish this way. I really can't say enough good things about it but I ll try with a few: every bite tastes like a little bit of summer in your mouth. So good. I made it exactly as written with 2 exceptions. I added pepper and 2 sliced green onions which I layered along with the tomatoes and corn. Oh, and I did not melt the butter beforehand, just put it in the skillet with the corn to cook briefly as recommended. I guess that makes 3 things I did slightly differently but I just thought of one more: I only made 2 layers and I did not wind up with tomatoes, but sprinkled remaining corn/green onions on top. Oh, yeah. I almost forgot that I only baked it for like 25 minutes and that was plenty of time. My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this dish again. We only had a small amount left over (which I had for lunch the next day), so I would say this would feed 2-3 people. What a perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunrun90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Tasty new twist to corn. We really liked the flavor of the corn being cooked in the bacon drippings. I added the layer of tomatoes at the end of the baking time so that they would still be firm. Lotsa of flavor - will be good with the late summer corn. Thanks Rafwolf for providing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I did not have bacon on hand so I used Tastefully Simple's Bacon Bacon instead & it was delicious! Makes a truly vegetarian side dish this way. Everyone thought the meal was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I was a bit hesitant about this recipe, boy was it great! I will be making this quite often, especially with the garden in overdrive. I made as is and will keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
It was sooooo good. no changes just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
We had this with Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious! We tried it again later with frozen corn, and it was very disappointing. I would stick with fresh corn straight from the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States