Fresh Coconut Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
WONDERFUL CAKE! I made this for my brother's birthday and had rave reviews. I have already been requested to make it again for a family gathering. The coconut is in everything- cake batter, frosting, filling, so there is no lack of flavor. This is not a white cake with coconut frosting, but a true coconut dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I LOVED this cake!!! I had a potluck to go to, and now all of my friends and family are addicted to this cake~ Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
The filling part is worth doing- for the rest of the recipe try making it simple. White box cake made according to directions on box except add coconut milk instead of water. Use filling from this recipe and for the frosting try French Vanilla Cool-Whip. I made this for my mom's birthday and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Don't understand how anyone could have liked this cake. The filling was tasty, as was the icing, but the cakes were thin little cardboard cookies. Neither my husband nor I finished even one piece let alone the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This cake is fabulous....However, I would change a few things next time. The frosting is overwhelmed with the taste of butter. I would cut the butter in half and add more cream cheese. I believe the filling would benefit from lemon flavoring and grated lemon peel. I did have to use twice the amount of cornstarch...luckily, I followed my hunches as the filling would have been too runny otherwise. The cake itself was exceptional...I only made two layers instead of three and they were ready in exactly 20 minutes. Overall, I would reduce the amount of sugar all around as it seemed far too sweet for my taste. Grating the coconut by hand was a chore....but oh, so worth it! This cake looked beautiful when it was presented and people were literally gushing....A true "suzy homemaker moment"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie Gresham
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
THIS WAS THE BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!!! I HAVE NEVER USED PARCHMENT PAPER BEFORE, BUT IT WORKED WELL. THE FLAVOR IN THE CAKE WAS WONDERFUL. MY DAD'S FAVORITE CAKE IS COCONUT SO HE WAS MY TESTER....HE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Gresham
Home Town: Union Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I've made this cake twice now and everyone loves it! The second time I used only coco lopez coconut cream instead of coconut milk and it worked out great. I did decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup in the cake to make up for the extra sweetness in the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I tried this cake with white box cake mix instead. The cake turned out better than anything else. The icing is OK - a bit too heavy for my taste. I did not care for the filling! I love butter - but 1/2 cup is way too much! This cake is far more work and than it is worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
the "real" coconut flavor really shines through here. You can definetly tell it's not a store bought cake or a generic cake recipe modified to taste coconutey. It does take a little time and effort to make, which is why I didn't rate it higher. But the flavor is really good. I didn't have any problems with the recipe as is technical or flavor wise(I didn't add or substitute anything). It's a good cake, but not "to die for" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Yummy! My 7 yr old son, who shares my love for cooking, wanted to buy a coconut. Long story short, I wanted a recipe that used fresh coconut and something he could do with just a little help from me. This cake was perfect. Not too difficult, a little time consuming, but worth it in the end. This cake was great! The only thing I changed was instead of 3 layers, we made 2. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States