Fresh Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Loved it! Icing was tricky.. but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This cake was a very good use for a fresh coconut. It's lasted and tasted fresh for 1 1/2 weeks so far. Just put the bottom layer in the freezer. It was simply delicious! Not too sweet, firm, you can tell it's a from scratch cake. Took from 9-2 to make, starting with opening the coconut. There are good hints below about making the old fashioned cooked frosting, which I followed, which was really tasty! It turned out perfect. Might double the frosting recipe next time, to decorate the sides of the cake. It was for a birthday party, looked adorable and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This a beautiful cake--well worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This cake was EXCEPTIONAL! It had a moist, dense crumb, fabulous flavor. Everyone who ate it raved. I used a raspberry filling and cream cheese frosting with it, however, and it was really a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this cake for Easter and won rave reviews for it. I added a tsp. of almond extract plus the vanilla and it was wonderful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very good!! I cut the recipe in 1/3 and still came out with a very good 2 layer cake. Added a little more sugar, and substituted the coconut-water instead of plain old water. Had a bit of trouble too, like the review above, with the icing, but all in all, it still came out yummy. Here's a hint on how to use fresh coconut, (I had to do a bit of research!) Crack coconut open, carefully, you can do this with a screwdriver and a hammer into one of the "eyes", and pour out & save the coconut water. Once you have the coconut in large pieces, (halves more or less) put them on a cookie sheet in an oven heated to 250^ for 10-15 minutes. This will make the meat loosen up a bit from the shell and easier to get out. You'll still probably have to pry. Then there is another layer of brown skin you'll have to slice off with a paring knife before you throw the meat into the food processor. :) It's a little bit of work, but definitely worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I've been searching for a coconut cake recipe that would be as good as my late grandmother's recipe (now lost). My dad said this was close and everyone else just raved about it. Perfect for those special occaisions. Also, due to time constraints, I did not use a fresh coconut and substituted canned coconut (much more moist than bagged coconut.) The results were still fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Well worth the work! I did this with a hand mixer and an EZ Break coconut, and it worked out beautifully. My food processor doesn't have a meat grater, so just grate the whole coconut and be done with it. The frosting is delightful and not nearly as difficult as several other reviewers made it sound, though it only made enough to top each layer. Still, the cake looked elegant and tasted divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wonderful desert. I like mile high cakes. I would like to share a tip for the frosting. You should use a candy thermometer to watch the sugar. I doubled the frosting. After the sugar mixture reaches the correct temp (soft ball) remove from heat and wait about ten mins before you beat the whites. After you stream the the sugar mixture into the whites let the mix cool off before you add it to the whipped butter. You can do this by letting it beat on high for up to 12 mins. If not it will melt and you may end up with soup. (your looking for about 85degrees. Then I just drop in 2 tbls at a time of room temp butter. If it seems a bit soft (too runny to spread) just place the whole mix in the fridge for 5 mins. and whip again. But be careful not to let it build condensation while in the fridge or the whole thing will collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
HOLY COW !!!!! I made cocnut frosting and toasted coconut for the 2 layer, and frosted the 3rd seperately with lemon frosting and served it with a scoop of sweetened crushed pineapple !!! 2 cakes for my function out of one recipie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States