Fresh Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i havent tried this recipe yet.but wanted to share some info about using fresh coconut which is used widely in most of the asian cuisines.simple way to break open a fresh coconut which we use back home is to simply dip the whole coconut in a bucket of water for 5 min.then hit it on some hard object to crack it a bit.once cracked keep a strainer to filter and catch the coconut water.once 2 get 2 halves keep it in the fridge for few hrs ( this makes the coconut to loosen from the shell).then with a knife cut chunks of the flesh and put in the food processor .this gives a nice flaky coconut .hope this is useful and do write about how this method worked for u all.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wonderful desert. I like mile high cakes. I would like to share a tip for the frosting. You should use a candy thermometer to watch the sugar. I doubled the frosting. After the sugar mixture reaches the correct temp (soft ball) remove from heat and wait about ten mins before you beat the whites. After you stream the the sugar mixture into the whites let the mix cool off before you add it to the whipped butter. You can do this by letting it beat on high for up to 12 mins. If not it will melt and you may end up with soup. (your looking for about 85degrees. Then I just drop in 2 tbls at a time of room temp butter. If it seems a bit soft (too runny to spread) just place the whole mix in the fridge for 5 mins. and whip again. But be careful not to let it build condensation while in the fridge or the whole thing will collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very good!! I cut the recipe in 1/3 and still came out with a very good 2 layer cake. Added a little more sugar, and substituted the coconut-water instead of plain old water. Had a bit of trouble too, like the review above, with the icing, but all in all, it still came out yummy. Here's a hint on how to use fresh coconut, (I had to do a bit of research!) Crack coconut open, carefully, you can do this with a screwdriver and a hammer into one of the "eyes", and pour out & save the coconut water. Once you have the coconut in large pieces, (halves more or less) put them on a cookie sheet in an oven heated to 250^ for 10-15 minutes. This will make the meat loosen up a bit from the shell and easier to get out. You'll still probably have to pry. Then there is another layer of brown skin you'll have to slice off with a paring knife before you throw the meat into the food processor. :) It's a little bit of work, but definitely worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I've been searching for a coconut cake recipe that would be as good as my late grandmother's recipe (now lost). My dad said this was close and everyone else just raved about it. Perfect for those special occaisions. Also, due to time constraints, I did not use a fresh coconut and substituted canned coconut (much more moist than bagged coconut.) The results were still fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This cake was a very good use for a fresh coconut. It's lasted and tasted fresh for 1 1/2 weeks so far. Just put the bottom layer in the freezer. It was simply delicious! Not too sweet, firm, you can tell it's a from scratch cake. Took from 9-2 to make, starting with opening the coconut. There are good hints below about making the old fashioned cooked frosting, which I followed, which was really tasty! It turned out perfect. Might double the frosting recipe next time, to decorate the sides of the cake. It was for a birthday party, looked adorable and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
HOLY COW !!!!! I made cocnut frosting and toasted coconut for the 2 layer, and frosted the 3rd seperately with lemon frosting and served it with a scoop of sweetened crushed pineapple !!! 2 cakes for my function out of one recipie !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This a beautiful cake--well worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this for the first time, following the directions exactly, and it was perfect! I couldn't have been happier. I did double the frosting to make enough to cover the sides, which was good. Beautiful cake, and wonderful flavor/texture! This is going to be a stand-by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this cake for Easter and won rave reviews for it. I added a tsp. of almond extract plus the vanilla and it was wonderful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
The cake part of this was pretty good. Very rich, but tasty. I had trouble with the frosting, but I haven't made cooked frosting very much and I probably did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States