Fresh Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This a beautiful cake--well worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This cake was EXCEPTIONAL! It had a moist, dense crumb, fabulous flavor. Everyone who ate it raved. I used a raspberry filling and cream cheese frosting with it, however, and it was really a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
The cake part of this was pretty good. Very rich, but tasty. I had trouble with the frosting, but I haven't made cooked frosting very much and I probably did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this cake for Easter and won rave reviews for it. I added a tsp. of almond extract plus the vanilla and it was wonderful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very good!! I cut the recipe in 1/3 and still came out with a very good 2 layer cake. Added a little more sugar, and substituted the coconut-water instead of plain old water. Had a bit of trouble too, like the review above, with the icing, but all in all, it still came out yummy. Here's a hint on how to use fresh coconut, (I had to do a bit of research!) Crack coconut open, carefully, you can do this with a screwdriver and a hammer into one of the "eyes", and pour out & save the coconut water. Once you have the coconut in large pieces, (halves more or less) put them on a cookie sheet in an oven heated to 250^ for 10-15 minutes. This will make the meat loosen up a bit from the shell and easier to get out. You'll still probably have to pry. Then there is another layer of brown skin you'll have to slice off with a paring knife before you throw the meat into the food processor. :) It's a little bit of work, but definitely worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I've been searching for a coconut cake recipe that would be as good as my late grandmother's recipe (now lost). My dad said this was close and everyone else just raved about it. Perfect for those special occaisions. Also, due to time constraints, I did not use a fresh coconut and substituted canned coconut (much more moist than bagged coconut.) The results were still fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Well worth the work! I did this with a hand mixer and an EZ Break coconut, and it worked out beautifully. My food processor doesn't have a meat grater, so just grate the whole coconut and be done with it. The frosting is delightful and not nearly as difficult as several other reviewers made it sound, though it only made enough to top each layer. Still, the cake looked elegant and tasted divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I only made the frosting from this recipe and it did not come out well. Although I followed the instructions exactly I found that it came out syrupy sweet and too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Wonderful desert. I like mile high cakes. I would like to share a tip for the frosting. You should use a candy thermometer to watch the sugar. I doubled the frosting. After the sugar mixture reaches the correct temp (soft ball) remove from heat and wait about ten mins before you beat the whites. After you stream the the sugar mixture into the whites let the mix cool off before you add it to the whipped butter. You can do this by letting it beat on high for up to 12 mins. If not it will melt and you may end up with soup. (your looking for about 85degrees. Then I just drop in 2 tbls at a time of room temp butter. If it seems a bit soft (too runny to spread) just place the whole mix in the fridge for 5 mins. and whip again. But be careful not to let it build condensation while in the fridge or the whole thing will collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i havent tried this recipe yet.but wanted to share some info about using fresh coconut which is used widely in most of the asian cuisines.simple way to break open a fresh coconut which we use back home is to simply dip the whole coconut in a bucket of water for 5 min.then hit it on some hard object to crack it a bit.once cracked keep a strainer to filter and catch the coconut water.once 2 get 2 halves keep it in the fridge for few hrs ( this makes the coconut to loosen from the shell).then with a knife cut chunks of the flesh and put in the food processor .this gives a nice flaky coconut .hope this is useful and do write about how this method worked for u all.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States