Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was sooo yummy!!! I did make the following modifications - used 2 cans of sour cherries, and cut the sugar/flour in half. Put in an 8x8 pan. I cut the topping in half and took out the shortening completely (not sure why you would want to add unnecessary trans fat). Also, I used salted butter, which I'm sure helped give the topping its great flavor. This ROCKS with Blue Bell vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My rating is for the following modifications: I used a bag of Trader Joe's frozen cherries and berries (about 3 cups) because that was all I had and reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup for the fruit mixture. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon over it. I did not use the shortening! You only need 1/2 cup of butter for the topping or it will be greasy. Shortening has no place in a recipe like this. I look forward to trying it with the sour cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This turned out pretty good. I did have some slight changes. I didn't have enough frozen cherries so I added half the amount in frozen peaches. The peaches and cherries tasted great together and complimented perfectly! I didn't have any shortening so I used 1 c butter. The cooking time seemed right on. All in all the only thing I would change would be to cut down on some of the topping. There was just a bit too much so you didn't taste as much fruit as I'd like to, just a mouth full of sugar! I would say cut the topping by 1/4 or even 1/3. I'm going to experiment to find which is best. Oh also, I had a little juice spill out so it got burnt on the coil. It smelled AWFUL! Just in case, I'd lay down some foil underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Very good, and simple!! I used all butter instead of half butter, half shortening. I also added 1 TB almond oil to the fruit and 1 tsp almond oil to the crumble. I used half fresh cherries and half fresh blueberries for a wonderful combination. Also, before I topped the fruit with the crumble, I added 4 pieces of Neufchatel cheese (1 TB each) to the top of the fruit. Then, I topped with the crumble and baked. The cream cheese gave it a danish-like taste. The crisp was delicious and everyone LOVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I tried this recipe when I realized that I had 2 cherry trees in my back yard and an abundance cherries. I made this with fresh cherries, of course, and it turned out wonderfully. It was such a hit that I ended up having to make 3 more for my friends. Great recipe, thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is awesome! There is no need for 1/2 cup of shortening. I used more than 4 cups of cherries. I served this with whipped topping, but will be sure to serve it with vanilla ice cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
So delicious! I used a one pound bag of frozen sweet dark cherries from Trader Joe's. (And cut the recipe in half). Since they were sweet cherries, I omitted the white sugar. For the topping, I used mostly whole-wheat pastry flour. I don't use shortening, so I used all butter, (a little less than called for) and melted it before mixing it in. Added just a little cinnamon too. With my changes I give it five stars. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Yum! My friend gave me some cherries. So I was looking for a recipe for fresh sour cherries and ran across this recipe, and so glad I did! I used 5 cups cherries because that was how much I had.I added 1/2tsp. cinnamon to topping and used all butter, no shortening. Delish! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
My family had requested that I make cherry crisp for a summer cook-out, and use some of our freshly-picked cherries. I followed this recipe exactly, and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved about it, and I only got one spoonful at the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I've made this twice now and it was a huge hit both times. My oldest son was hovering over it while it cooled when I made it for a party last night! I used 2 bags of frozen, no sugar added, sour cherries from Safeway. Followed the directions just as they are with the frozen cherries and it turns out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States