Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Yum! My friend gave me some cherries. So I was looking for a recipe for fresh sour cherries and ran across this recipe, and so glad I did! I used 5 cups cherries because that was how much I had.I added 1/2tsp. cinnamon to topping and used all butter, no shortening. Delish! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I made this out of fresh cherries and took it to a party. Everyone raved about it saying it was great. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
The recipe is as delicious as it is simple. I made it for a potluck and everyone was asking for the recipe. I used bing cherries (almost 5 cups)in place of the sour cherries and cut the amount of sugar to 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I also added sliced almonds to the topping (about a handful). The topping is plentiful which helps to ensure the juices don't escape through it. I plan on making it again for the 4th of July weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This was a great way to use those farmer's markets' fresh sour cherries that come along only too infrequently. The crisp topping works really well with the sweetened tartness of the baked cherries. I'm sure this would be good with ice cream, but it didn't last long enough for us to try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This recipe is awesome.. I used fresh cherries and only 1 cup of sugar. I also added sliced almonds to the topping mixture as recommended by another reviewer.. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
After a long day of picking and pitting 3 gallons of sour cherries, I needed a quick but appealing recipe. This is a wonderfully quick recipe that produces great results. The combination of the crunchy sweetness of the topping and mild tartness of the cherries made for a great finale to my meal. Of course a big dallop of whipped cream only added to the dessert. It was quite popular with all of my family and will be made again! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
A delicious, very easy recipe for using fresh cherries from the garden! Very easy for my young granddaughter to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
My 4 year old loved this, but it was a little sweet for me. I halved the recipe and it was enough for my family of four with leftovers for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I love picking cherries from our little tree in the backyard. This year, we had a bumper crop. My husband and I picked the Montmorency cherries on our anniversary, and I made this recipe for his parents. They can't get out much -- don't drive any more. But they just loved having a fresh cherry crisp. Even ate it for lunch one day. We just picked another 7 cups or so -- and we'll have it again on Father's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
My family had requested that I make cherry crisp for a summer cook-out, and use some of our freshly-picked cherries. I followed this recipe exactly, and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved about it, and I only got one spoonful at the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States