Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was very easy to make and was absolutely delicious. I got more compliments on this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This crisp was a good starting point but I found it to be too sweet. Next time I will make some modifications to it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a winner. My parents visited when I made this and my Dad told me it reminded him of his Mom's crisp that she made when he was younger. This recipe keeps the tart flavor of the cherries and has that wonderful crisp on top too. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I picked sour cherries at my neighbors and pitted them. This is a great recipe for the filling. The crust is not as crumbly as I would like. With the crisco it makes it clumpy, good, but not what I wanted. I like the Apple Crisp II topping. # 1 cup quick-cooking oats # 1 cup all-purpose flour # 1 cup packed brown sugar # 1/4 teaspoon baking powder # 1/4 teaspoon baking soda # 1/2 cup butter, melted # Combine the oats, 1 cup flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and melted butter together. Crumble evenly over the apple mixture. # Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hensen22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is definitely better with fozen cherries if you can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made this for work and got rave reviews. Fresh cherries were out of season, so I used some frozen dark ones and it was awesome. Just enough left over for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Super yummy! I love the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Good, easy, straightforward recipe. I tend to leave out the flour since I don't do carbs very well, and definitely left out shortening. I used less butter as well. I didn't have quite enough cherries, so I added some frozen mango I found in the freezer, and some dried cranberries. I subbed Splenda Brown Sugar for the regular brown sugar. Its baking now, and smells fantastic! It will be very welcome in this extended snowy weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very yummy!! I followed the advice of another reviewer and just took out the shortening completely (didn't sub anything for it), using only 1/2 c. butter and it turned out PERFECT. I can't imagine it needing another 1/2 cup of fat. It was very moist without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very Tasty! I had presweetened canned cherries that I wanted to use up so I didn't add the sugar or flour to the cherries. This recipe is easily modified if you don't have fresh fruit on hand. The cherries bubble up under the gorgeous golden crisp. Topped off with vanilla ice cream this is a true crowd pleaser. I'm just kicking myself for not taking a picture. It looks that good. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States