Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used canned dark sweet cherries, which came out way too sweet with this recipe. The crust tastes awesome, especially when warm! My only other complaint is there was way too much crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I only gave this 4 stars because I don't believe in using shortening over butter. I also used whole wheat pastry flour and added almond extract to the cherry mixture. Also - I added chopped walnuts to the topping - really gave it a texture instead of being all soft and mushy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really good. I used canned cherries and made 1/2 a batch. I then baked in individaul ramekins. They turned out great and were a delicious dessert to our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
everybody loved- it good way to use cherries up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I scaled this recipe down to a few servings and it turned out great. I used one cup of cherries with one cup of mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made these in six individual dishes as my husband and I really shouldn't eat the whole recipe at one sitting - and it was good enough that that would have been tempting. By making it in small dishes I was able to freeze extra. I made the topping in the food processor, grinding the oatmeal fine and used all butter. It tasted like shortbread. I only used half the topping, put the rest in a ziploc bag and held it in the refrigerator for next time. I made this twice - the first time I used Splenda as another reviewer suggested. Yuck! I don't use Splenda but someone had left a box in my kitchen and I thought it would be a good idea to use it up. I followed the instructions to use it in the same quantities as sugar but it turned out way too sweet and to me it had an aftertaste. I'll never try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe, did not change a thing! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good. I had some frozen cherries and this was perfect. I will use this recipe again and use different fruit. maybe rhubarb and cherries...even apples. Very Good! everyone loved it with a little cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!! I made this exactly as written, with the exception of the 9x13 pan. Mine were all in use, so I simply put it in an 8x8 pan. Some of the crumbles on top were a little powdery because they didn't contact the cherry juice, but it was still absolutely delectable. If you decide to use a smaller pan, I might recommend not using all the crumbles, or cutting that part of the recipe to 3/4. Regardless of how you make it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly (only because I don't believe in giving a review of a recipe that I make changes to) and it was delicious! Some of the sugar did stick to the bottom but I probably would not change the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States