Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Just finished a bowl of this and it was wonderful! My father in law is already on seconds. Served with whipped cream and it was the perfect way to end a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was just ok for me. It needed a lot more oatmeal and a lot less sugar. The topping tasted like mostly sugar with a hint of oatmeal and there was way too much topping and not enough cherries. I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I also reduced the sugar in the cherries by half because I used sweet cherries instead of sour. Next time i'd reduce the topping by half, double the cherries and add more oatmeal to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Being the first time I've made my own cherry crisp.. I followed the recipe but subbed the shortening for a full cup of butter and cut back a 1/2 cup of sugar.. still, I felt so guilty eating this, using 2 CUPS of sugar, even with cutting back it came out still too sickeningly sweet.. I would have much rather preferred the sweet tartness of the cherries without all the sugar coating of this dish.... I will keep that in mind next time to use only the 1 cup of brown sugar for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Good stuff! Just moved into our new house last January. Noticed a North Star Cherry Tree growing. Just picked the berries and made this crunch. Good stuff!!! Did I mention that this is really good stuff? Because if I failed to let me just say...good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadof3va

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
The cherry crisp for very tasty. I did not give it a 5 only because I would totally the 1/2 cup of shortening unnecessary. That made it too oily and did not add to the flavor. The half cup of butter would have been the right amount in my estimation (without the shortening part). I would also increase the oats to 1 1/4 cup because it did not completely cover the top of the pan. I did add chopped walnuts to the topping. Overall, very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used canned dark sweet cherries, which came out way too sweet with this recipe. The crust tastes awesome, especially when warm! My only other complaint is there was way too much crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I only gave this 4 stars because I don't believe in using shortening over butter. I also used whole wheat pastry flour and added almond extract to the cherry mixture. Also - I added chopped walnuts to the topping - really gave it a texture instead of being all soft and mushy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really good. I used canned cherries and made 1/2 a batch. I then baked in individaul ramekins. They turned out great and were a delicious dessert to our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
everybody loved- it good way to use cherries up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I scaled this recipe down to a few servings and it turned out great. I used one cup of cherries with one cup of mixed berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States