Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It is good, but definitely way to sweet, out of a family of 7 only one of the children didn't complain. And you know it is really sweet when children complain. I think I will try the recipe again just try to cut out some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
An often requested treat at the firehouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeaneDrake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was good buy wasn't crispy. I think the oats soaked up too much of the liquid. I increased the amount of cherries based on prior reviews. Flavor was good but the texture wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeaneDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Londonderry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used just 1/2 cup butter, no shortening. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
LOVED IT! I made some changes others suggested and incorporated my own. I ended up with more cherries and less topping: 4 and 1/2 c cherries (I used frozen), 3/4 white sugar, 1/4 cup tapioca (instead of flour) and 1 t vanilla. For topping, 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c rolled oats,1/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar. Leave out shortening. Bake in 8x8 or 9x9 for 50-60 minutes. Less topping and more cherries make me a happy girl. Serve with vanilla ice cream. My hubby ate three helpings on his go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I halved this recipe, but mine came out with the sugar still grainy. I creamed the butter and sugar as directed for the topping, however, it was the butter in the cherry flour mixture that was gritty, I think. Any suggestions? We will still eat it. Thanks Arandygail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this for my guinea pigs--I mean, co-workers at the peak of cherry season, following all the instructions...EXCEPT: I used coconut flour rather than wheat flour to make it gluten-free. The results were great-my co-workers loved it and I received many compliments. The only thing is, I've never used coconut flour before, so in the future, I might cover it with foil to keep it from getting too dark in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious recipe! Next time however I will try the fresh cherries without added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband made this using Rainier & Sweetheart Cherries and it was so yummy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerme2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish! I only had 3 cups of cherries on hand so I substituted 1 cup of blueberries. It turned out beautifully. I love the way the tang of the fruit is not over powered by the crisp mixture. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States