Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I make a lot of fruit crisps. I always use fresh fruit to make them. This is a good base recipe, but required a lot of changes. First, use only 1 cup of sugar to cover the fruit. Second, use only 1 cup of flour for the crumble topping, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of oats. Eliminate the shortening and use only butter. This created a nice balance of sweet and tart. By using all the sugar included in this recipe you would completely overshadow the sourness of the sour cherries. If I had followed this recipe exactly, I probably would have only given it a 2 or a 3 because it would have been way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I thought there was too much topping, but my husband loved it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
We tried using just the butter and it turned out super good! going to be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a delicious crisp- used 4 cans of sour cherries since I cannot find any fresh sour cherries in our area. Made it even easier to use the cans since they were already pitted. Also, I substituted another 1/2 cup of butter for the shortening, and the result was a outstanding topping that I will use with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Delicious, but I added more cherries omitted the shortening and added more oats and flour to topping. I also topped the crumbled top with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious (and vegan)! Took recommendations from others and used half the sugar and no shortening. Instead of butter i used 1.5 sticks of Earth Balance vegan buttery stick and you don't even notice. Used 8x8 pan and had so much crust that i lined the bottom of the pan with crust and still had so much for the top. Thought it was too much, but for me there is never too much crust. Just dumped it on top and it came out awesome. Also threw in some cinnamon, nutmeg and anise in the crust. Sweetness was just right, perhaps could've just used 1/2 cup sugar instead of the 3/4 c for more tart flavor. Very easy to make - hardest part was pitting the 2+ pounds of cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It is good, but definitely way to sweet, out of a family of 7 only one of the children didn't complain. And you know it is really sweet when children complain. I think I will try the recipe again just try to cut out some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
An often requested treat at the firehouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeaneDrake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was good buy wasn't crispy. I think the oats soaked up too much of the liquid. I increased the amount of cherries based on prior reviews. Flavor was good but the texture wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeaneDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Londonderry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used just 1/2 cup butter, no shortening. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States