Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I took the advice and reduced my sugar to a little less than a cup. I used approximately 5 cups of cherries and wished I had used more!! I will use more like 7 cups next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bl0ndie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Really good. I added 1 cup of sugar (recipe calls for 1 1/2) and it is still a little sweet so would probably adjust the sugar to 1/2 cup for my taste. Added 1/2 tbsp vanilla to cherry mix, a pinch of salt and added about a 1/2 tbsp cinnamon. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the flour/oats mix and instead of shortening I added 1/2 cup plain applesauce. I also drizzled a little coconut oil to the top just before baking. I will make this again when I have fresh cherries I need to use. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I prepared it exactly, no changes..and it is way too sweet. Sickenly sweet, neither of us could finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I make a lot of fruit crisps. I always use fresh fruit to make them. This is a good base recipe, but required a lot of changes. First, use only 1 cup of sugar to cover the fruit. Second, use only 1 cup of flour for the crumble topping, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of oats. Eliminate the shortening and use only butter. This created a nice balance of sweet and tart. By using all the sugar included in this recipe you would completely overshadow the sourness of the sour cherries. If I had followed this recipe exactly, I probably would have only given it a 2 or a 3 because it would have been way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I thought there was too much topping, but my husband loved it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
We tried using just the butter and it turned out super good! going to be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a delicious crisp- used 4 cans of sour cherries since I cannot find any fresh sour cherries in our area. Made it even easier to use the cans since they were already pitted. Also, I substituted another 1/2 cup of butter for the shortening, and the result was a outstanding topping that I will use with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Delicious, but I added more cherries omitted the shortening and added more oats and flour to topping. I also topped the crumbled top with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious (and vegan)! Took recommendations from others and used half the sugar and no shortening. Instead of butter i used 1.5 sticks of Earth Balance vegan buttery stick and you don't even notice. Used 8x8 pan and had so much crust that i lined the bottom of the pan with crust and still had so much for the top. Thought it was too much, but for me there is never too much crust. Just dumped it on top and it came out awesome. Also threw in some cinnamon, nutmeg and anise in the crust. Sweetness was just right, perhaps could've just used 1/2 cup sugar instead of the 3/4 c for more tart flavor. Very easy to make - hardest part was pitting the 2+ pounds of cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It is good, but definitely way to sweet, out of a family of 7 only one of the children didn't complain. And you know it is really sweet when children complain. I think I will try the recipe again just try to cut out some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States