Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Since I used fresh cherries (about 5 cups), I reduced the sugar added to the cherries to 1/4 cup. I made the full amount of topping, but used only about three-fourths of it, and even that was too much. It sort of overwhelmed the taste of the cherries. I would agree with other reviewers that even if you like the topping best, reduce the topping in half - that is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used 3 tablespoons of tapioca instead of flour, 1/4 teasoon almond extract, and omitted the shortening . Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Loved it! Made it 2x in 3 days. I substitute cornstarch for the flour, though (my preference)! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
ok. For starters there are too few cherries for the size of pan. I put four cups into an 8x8 pan and added cinnamon,nutmeg and almond flavoring, and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Not sure about the flour. Next time I'd try tapioca. The crisp I cut by 1/2, the sugar by more than 1/2 and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Some sliced almonds would be a nice touch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Always delicious. Love making this with the fresh cherries from my yard! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wigglysloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
As written, this gets three stars simply because every component tastes great! However...this is seriously not enough cherries and WAY TOO much topping. This is coming from someone whose favorite part of a fruit crisp is the topping. Since I have a large family and will need the 13x9 pan, next time I will use closer to 5 cups of cherries, and about 1/2 to 2/3 the topping. Probably closer to 1/2. Like I said though, the crisp was great, and the cherries were great, but they were hidden! I still can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
very good. I doubled the fruit, used a 9x13 glass baking pan. I did not double the topping recipe. I also added some saskatoon berries and the cherries were fresh from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I took the advice and reduced my sugar to a little less than a cup. I used approximately 5 cups of cherries and wished I had used more!! I will use more like 7 cups next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bl0ndie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Really good. I added 1 cup of sugar (recipe calls for 1 1/2) and it is still a little sweet so would probably adjust the sugar to 1/2 cup for my taste. Added 1/2 tbsp vanilla to cherry mix, a pinch of salt and added about a 1/2 tbsp cinnamon. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to the flour/oats mix and instead of shortening I added 1/2 cup plain applesauce. I also drizzled a little coconut oil to the top just before baking. I will make this again when I have fresh cherries I need to use. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I prepared it exactly, no changes..and it is way too sweet. Sickenly sweet, neither of us could finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States