Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delish! I 1 1/2'd the cherries. (I used frozen sour cherries) I decreased the white sugar to 1 cup. And I cut the crumble topping in 1/2 and added 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also assembled and then froze an extra pan. Came out perfect freezer to oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We have a cherry tree in our yard and this is my go to recipe for Cherry Crisp. It is so yummy without any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was given a bag of fresh sour cherries and found this recipe. I just pulled this out of the oven, and it is delicious. Very easy to put together. I did not use the half cup of shortening that the recipe calls for and next time I will cut down on the topping probably by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Since I used fresh cherries (about 5 cups), I reduced the sugar added to the cherries to 1/4 cup. I made the full amount of topping, but used only about three-fourths of it, and even that was too much. It sort of overwhelmed the taste of the cherries. I would agree with other reviewers that even if you like the topping best, reduce the topping in half - that is plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used 3 tablespoons of tapioca instead of flour, 1/4 teasoon almond extract, and omitted the shortening . Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Loved it! Made it 2x in 3 days. I substitute cornstarch for the flour, though (my preference)! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
ok. For starters there are too few cherries for the size of pan. I put four cups into an 8x8 pan and added cinnamon,nutmeg and almond flavoring, and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. Not sure about the flour. Next time I'd try tapioca. The crisp I cut by 1/2, the sugar by more than 1/2 and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Some sliced almonds would be a nice touch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Always delicious. Love making this with the fresh cherries from my yard! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wigglysloth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
As written, this gets three stars simply because every component tastes great! However...this is seriously not enough cherries and WAY TOO much topping. This is coming from someone whose favorite part of a fruit crisp is the topping. Since I have a large family and will need the 13x9 pan, next time I will use closer to 5 cups of cherries, and about 1/2 to 2/3 the topping. Probably closer to 1/2. Like I said though, the crisp was great, and the cherries were great, but they were hidden! I still can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
very good. I doubled the fruit, used a 9x13 glass baking pan. I did not double the topping recipe. I also added some saskatoon berries and the cherries were fresh from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States