Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this was pretty good, served it hot with vanilla ice cream. used cherries from the tree we have out back, so they were maybe a little too sour for this recipe? i think i might try something else next time, but still very good. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecwright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Well the crumble was great and overall the recipe is great however I used sweet cherrys since thats what I had in the freezer. I cut down sugar to 1 cup but wish I would have cut it down even more. Next time I will try 1/2 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was pretty good. I didn't use shortening though and it was still tasty. You could use any fruit for this recipe. I also melted the butter and poured it over oat mixture. Just make sure you drizzle enough butter over all dry ingredients, otherwise the flour stays too "floury". I should have used a little more than 1/2 cup butter for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Great tasting cherry crisp! I did replace the white sugar with maple syrup to make in more healthy and I did not use the crisco again for health reasons. 1/2 cup butter was plenty for the topping. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious! I halved the recipe and used one can of cherries and baked it in a 9x9 pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I add 1/4 tsp to the fruit...and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the topping. Yum! This is probably the best crisp that I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very Very yummy. I used 1.5 bags of frozen sour cherries a halved the recipe for the topping. This made a great dessert in a decorative pie pan. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILve2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
used 5 cups frozen berries partially thawed. Omitted shortening. Used 3/4 cup butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Yum! Used frozen pie cherries and will probably still cut back on the sugar next time. I made the topping ahead of time and it keeps well because of the shortening instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious! I took another reviewers advice on lessening the sugar, since I was using Bing Cherries. I also took another reviewers advice and added some frozen peaches. I loved it with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Parry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States