Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was really easy. I used all butter instead of butter and shortening. Also used tart cherries because that is what I had on hand. I felt like something was missing. My cherry pie recipes calls for almond extract so I may add that next time or some cinnamon like in apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is my first year of sour cherries and my first attempt at a cherry crisp. It turned out WONDERFULLY!! I didn't have enough for the full recipe so I cut it in half and cooked it in an 8 x 8 glass baking dish. I took the others' suggestions about the shortening & instead used 1/3 cup butter when I cut the recipe in half. I also sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top before I baked it. I'll DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LES09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Excellent! This is the second time I've made it, and it is a pleaser for adults and children. I agree with others, the shortening is definitely not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this was pretty good, served it hot with vanilla ice cream. used cherries from the tree we have out back, so they were maybe a little too sour for this recipe? i think i might try something else next time, but still very good. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecwright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Well the crumble was great and overall the recipe is great however I used sweet cherrys since thats what I had in the freezer. I cut down sugar to 1 cup but wish I would have cut it down even more. Next time I will try 1/2 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was pretty good. I didn't use shortening though and it was still tasty. You could use any fruit for this recipe. I also melted the butter and poured it over oat mixture. Just make sure you drizzle enough butter over all dry ingredients, otherwise the flour stays too "floury". I should have used a little more than 1/2 cup butter for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Great tasting cherry crisp! I did replace the white sugar with maple syrup to make in more healthy and I did not use the crisco again for health reasons. 1/2 cup butter was plenty for the topping. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious! I halved the recipe and used one can of cherries and baked it in a 9x9 pan. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I add 1/4 tsp to the fruit...and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the topping. Yum! This is probably the best crisp that I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very Very yummy. I used 1.5 bags of frozen sour cherries a halved the recipe for the topping. This made a great dessert in a decorative pie pan. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILve2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States