Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was delicious and SO easy! Any fruit will do too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Very easy to make and the hubby really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I prepared this recipe as directed and was not impressed. I decided to try it because of the great reviews, but wish now that I would not have wasted the ingredients:( The crisp was way, way to sweet, there was too much topping for the amount of fruit, and why the recipe calls for shortening-I'll never know--it just makes a greasy, slimey mess--YUCK! I have made many a cherry crisp and this one was the worst--sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was great! I used only 1 C of sugar and it seemed to be plenty sweet, just the right balance of tart and sweet really. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is awesome! There is no need for 1/2 cup of shortening. I used more than 4 cups of cherries. I served this with whipped topping, but will be sure to serve it with vanilla ice cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was my first time baking with cherries, but I'll certainly try it again. Wish I had read through the comments and reduced the amount of sugar, but will do that next time. The bin of cherries from the farm stand was more than 4 cups, so I just tossed them all in. This is a CHERRY crisp after all. I wondered about the shortening in the topping, but went with the flow. Sometimes we get a bite of that shortening in the topping and it is just icky. Will keep this recipe on file but skip the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
this was wonderful, it is even better the next day warmed slightly in the microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good. I used cherries fresh picked from my grandparent's cherry tree. The only thing I did different was use 6 cups of cherries instead of 4. I made two of these, one with 4 cups and one with 6 cups, giving the one with 4 cups to a friend. I used 6 in my family's because there was a lot of topping and I had way too many cherries, and I thought it would be better if it was a little thicker. Oh and also I heated up the cherries, sugar and flour before I baked it so that it wouldn't be so runny. Just brought them to an almost-boil so it thickened it up a little =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was very good I made it twice (good cherry year) and it worked out well both times. I did add two more cups of cherrys and melted the better before I mixed it into the crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This tasted like a sticky gooey substance, definately not cherry crisp. Maybe I did something wrong I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States