Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I used regular sweet cherries, and it did not come out having the tartness I was expecting (hard to find sour cherries in Fairbanks, Alaska in the winter. The topping also wasn't as crunchy as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made this and only used the butter no shortening like someone else suggested. I used cherries i picked off a tree and this was sickly sweet, yuk.. Way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was great! Like other reviewers, I left out the crisco and only used 1/2 a stick of real butter. I also cut way back on the sugar in the filling. I used one can of dark red tart cherries and one can of royal anne cherries (no pie filling). I added cinnamon and pecans and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
great! Added a bit of oinnamon, used only butter and cut it to 1 1/2 cups. I used sweet cherries so I only used 1 cup sugar and probably would cut it to 3/4cup next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I just LOVED the topping. I couldn't find the right fresh cherries, and had to go with frozen, which wasn't as good as I had hoped. I'm still giving this a 5 since I think it was my fault going with frozen sweet cherries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was delicious and SO easy! Any fruit will do too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Very easy to make and the hubby really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I prepared this recipe as directed and was not impressed. I decided to try it because of the great reviews, but wish now that I would not have wasted the ingredients:( The crisp was way, way to sweet, there was too much topping for the amount of fruit, and why the recipe calls for shortening-I'll never know--it just makes a greasy, slimey mess--YUCK! I have made many a cherry crisp and this one was the worst--sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was great! I used only 1 C of sugar and it seemed to be plenty sweet, just the right balance of tart and sweet really. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is awesome! There is no need for 1/2 cup of shortening. I used more than 4 cups of cherries. I served this with whipped topping, but will be sure to serve it with vanilla ice cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States