Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This is sooooo good. I have a cherry tree, and so always have fresh or frozen cherries around. Both work great. I use all butter. Between my husband and I, we can take down a pan of this within a couple days. He loves it just as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Absolutely perfect and so easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was delicious! I did cut back on the sugar just a bit - I used just one cup. I also used tapioca in place of flour for the thickener. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
There was so much topping, it sucked up any & all juice from the cherries. We could barely taste the cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBTLady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Omitted shortening and used 1 cup of butter (I love butter.) For the topping, I used my food processor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Delicious. Not icky-sweet, with just the right amount of sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Although it needed a few alterations. Cut sugar to 1/2 cup. It also had way too much topping. Could probably cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I think this was perfect as is! I used fresh cherries cut in half and pitted. Easy to assemble in a 9x13 pan and great proportion of fruit to topping. I used a pastry cutter, then a fork to cut in the butter and shortening, but it was room temperature so I ended up just using my fingers until crumbly. Very easy and very yummy! Everyone loved it including my picky daughter who said she didn't like cherries. Great served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyscrapmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this using fresh sour cherries. We enjoyed it, but I felt the ratio was backwards--it was about 1/3 fruit, 2/3 topping. I like my fruit crisps a lot heavier on the fruit. Oh, and I baked it in a 10-inch square pan; I don't think the cherries would've come close to filling a 9x13-inch dish. I cut the sugar in the filling to about 1 1/4 cups, and in the topping to 3/4 cup since I like some tartness in fruit desserts. I added a pinch of salt to the filling and topping, too, and used all butter (about 3/4 cup). Tasty with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Patricia
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Overall this is a great easy recipe. It was just a little too sweet for my preference so I may reduce the brown sugar & the regular sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States