Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Very good salsa. Next time I'll use my food processor so it's more finely chopped, but it had a good taste. Also it was a great way to use up some of the tomatoes and jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
As written I would have to give this a four but I added some stuff that I thought brought it up to 5*s. I used 7 roma tomatos (pureed 2 of them), used a whole vidila onion, added 1 c. of corn & 1 c. of black beans (drained & rinsed), I didn't seed the jalapeno & I also added one habanero (I did seed it). At the end, hubby & I argued as to whether it needed a bit of sugar or vinegar, I won the arguement & we added 1 tbp. plus 1 tsp. of white wine vinegar... this really helped bind the flavors together & strangely enough, seemed to add the bit of sweetness my hubby thought it needed. I think we may have just made the best salsa ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This salsa is absolutely wonderful! I had fresh salsa when I was a kid and ever since then the canned stuff in the store just didn't taste as good. I was thrilled when I found this recipe. I use fresh vegetables out of my garden. I use two cloves of garlic instead of three. I also add the jalapeno pepper 1 tsp at a time after the first initial two tsps. I like it hot enough just to notice that the chile pepper is there, but not hot enough to have to have a glass of ice water on hand. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is great. I scaled down a bit using 3 tomatoes, 1 clove of garlic (don't care for strong raw garlic taste), 1/4 red onion for colour, 1 jalapeno, kept the lime juice the same and added 1/2 tsp sweetener for contrast. Also added a pinch of cumin. Would try with finely diced deseeded cucmber next time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Outstanding recipe. It didn't have a strong flavor, but we added a bit more hot pepper. I loved how well the flavors blended together, we ate the whole batch right away and had to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Good starting recipe. I used more tomato and lime to add a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Cruson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This is really great. I had to tweak it a bit for my personal taste. It was very easy to adjust the amount of the ingredients to make it just they way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is quick, easy and delicious! Hint though. After chopping the tomatoes, I drain them in a collander for a while to eliminate some of the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I love this fresh salsa! I use roma tomatoes, add some dried red pepper flakes, 1 can of black beans (rinsed & drained) and about a cup of frozen corn. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States