Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Sorry, this wasn't my favourite:( I had high expectations and thought it would get better after sitting in the refrigerator but it just wasn't the case. I guess you either love cilantro or hate it. Having never used fresh I know I'm in the latter. Besides which, the salsa just seemed to fall all over the place, needed something to bind it all together. Yes, it was like a brushetta (which i love) but i didn't want brushetta, i wanted salsa to dip my chips in!! If you're looking for something similar to that in a jar this is not for you (or me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was really good. I enjoyed it with blue corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
My first attempt at this wasn't the best. As others have said, the cilantro was too over-powering. Also the tomatoes in the stores this time of year are seriously lacking in flavor. The second time I made it I added about 1 1/2 cups of canned crushed tomatoes, 2 TBSP. of white vinegar, cut the cilantro to 1/4 cup and used 1/2 of a green pepper. I also added about 2-3 tsp. of sugar (or to taste). My husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This would be a 5 star recipe had I used lemon instead of lime. Being from California I had never heard of anyone using lime in thier salsa but found two recipes that used it and tried it. It was okay the first day but the next day the lime was terrible in the salsa. I really reccomend using lemon and this would be a perfect fresh salsa. I used canned tomatoes, will use lemon next time and threw it in the blender with some extra chopped garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDENICOL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
The cilantro is seriously overbearing. It does take a really long time to prepare due to the enormous amount of chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It can be tailored to your liking. My favorite salsa recipe so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pazko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I'm giving this a 5 star rating, but so much depends on the flavor of the tomatoes. The first time I made it, everyone raved. The tomato flavor was excellent that time. The second time, it was good, but the tomatoes were not as flavorfull. This recipe for "cruda" style salsa is overall great ... a fresh, envigorating taste experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I had never made salsa before this recipe. I took advice from previous entries and added black beans, corn, sugar,cumin and white wine vinegar. It had a good taste, tangy. I might not add the black beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This Salsa turned out GREAT!! I did add a fresh green bell pepper from our garden and used 6 tomatoes. I only used a 1/4 cup of cilantro, to make it to my familiys' taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States