Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This is exactly the salsa recipe I use all the time. My husband LOVES it! I usually substitute one of the tomatoes for about 1/4 cup tomato sauce if I have it on hand and I throw everthing in my blender whole and pulse it til it's the consistancy we like. We like it less chunky like the mexican resturants make it. I have also left out the lime when I didn't have it and it was still great. This recipe is the BEST and you can adjust any of the ingredients to suit your taste. Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Copperopolis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
this was my first time to make salsa... delicious! I didn't change a thing. :) Buying jarred from now on will only be under duress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTHNYBEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moselle, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is very tasty. My husband and I used all fresh ingredients from our garden. I doubled this batch and canned it. Will save this to my file and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I'm gonna bet this is as good as mine. I use almost the same exact ingredients except when I am in a time crunch I actually have used canned diced tomatoes, tobasco sauce instead of a jalapeno and garlic powder instead of chopped garlic. It is so good I get requests for potlucks and for the recipe time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I love salsa and this recipe worked for me with a little enhancement of Garlic Salt, used roma Tomatoes, mild green chillies from can, also used red onion, eliminated the jalapeno pepper. THE BEST FLAVOR EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
better with cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I first found this recipe years ago, and have made it countless times. It is ALWAYS a huge hit!!! As another reviewer said, there is definitely never enough :) I find that I usually end up putting in the whole jalapeno and it isn't too hot. FAVORITE AND ONLY SALSA I MAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good salsa! I used two jalapenos, a little extra lime juice and less cilantro (I just seasoned to taste). This freezes really well-I made it on Tues, stuck it in the freezer & set it out to thaw Fri. Took it to a party on Sat & got lots of compliments! Next time I will drain the tomatoes after chopping-I had to pour out quite a bit of extra juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I gave it 5 stars because it is a really simple recipe, pretty hard to mess this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
too much cilantro, def add that to suit taste. I always add a few dashes of hot sauce. sometimes add diced cuccumbers. splash of white vinegar. roma tomatoes...with these changes 5*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States