Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Will use a little less sugar in the dressing next time and less onion. Was a little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
As suggested by other reviewers, I also cut the onion in half. I added some shredded cheddar cheese too. Yum! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Seibert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Just finished making this and it's AMAZING even before letting it chill in the 'fridge!! I took some user's advice and used Red Wine Vinegar. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup for personal preference. Thanks for what might be my new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used less onion but otherwise made it just like it said. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
i've made this several times already because I keep getting requests for it. Amazing, simple dish with a salty/sweet thing going on that will knock your socks off. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Todaro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious! Very easy and no cooking since I bought fully cooked bacon and just chopped it up! Stuck to the recipe, just a little less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Family favorite! I use a lot less onion. I stick with mayonnaise on this salad instead of miracle whip (my usual favorite) - that way it's not too sweet. My hubby doesn't like onions much but LUVS when I make this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a favorite. When I take it to pot lucks, people always ask for the recipe. I add less than 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes to the mayo mixture, to give it a little heat. I don't add the bacon, nuts, and raisins, until just before serving, so they don't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I love it without the raisins and almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Prepared as written the first time. Made the following improvements the next time around: 1) blanch the broccoli in boiling water for 1 min, then submerge in ice water. Run broccoli through salad spinner before mixing with dressing. Helps maintain color and crunch. 2) Subbed honey for the white sugar (to taste). 3) Soaked raisins in hot water for 10 minutes to plump before adding. 4) Ran out of vinegar, but balsamic or red wine vinegar subs just fine. 5) To make ahead, mix broccoli, raisins, and onions and refrigerate. Make dressing and refrigerate. Add remaining salad ingredients and combine with dressing right before serving. Onions mellow out and flavor the salad better this way and no soggy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States