Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is such a tasty salad. Even my 3 year old (who despises broccoli) enjoys eating this. It's a staple for our Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. I substitute scallions in place of the onions. It still gives it a little kick, but is much less subtle. I also prepare everything the night before but keep the dressing separate. I add the dressing in the morning and let it marinate for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smccumbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This salad is delicious. I usually make it without the almonds though. Also, for the dressing, I use Marie's cole slaw dressing(in the refrigerator section of the produce department).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great recipe made as is. I've had rave reviews each time I make it. If you don't like raisins, try dried cranberries (same measurement as the raisins in this recipe). We have found that we prefer the cranberries over the raisins. The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because the recipe does not specify the size of the red onion that should be used (small, medium, large). Perhaps, it would be better to state how much onion, chopped, to use. I've had to eyeball the amount of onion each time I make the recipe and think I have used 1/2 a large or 1 medium red onion--no problems with a strong onion taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My family loved this broccoli salad. It garnered rave reviews and i loved the fresh ingredients. I did add mandarins to it; awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Made it for a potluck at Church. Everyone liked it. Be sure to cut the broccoli in very small pieces. I used Crasins and Splenda, then topped with nacho shredded three cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papajoe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious salad. I didn't use any sugar and quickly blanched the broccoli. I felt the raisins gave it just the right amount of sweetness, and we are trying to reduce our sugar intake nowadays. Tip for sharpness of red onion. A half hour before putting the salad together, slice the red onion and let it soak in the vinegar and a little salt. The vinegar will take the bite out of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I used re-hydrated golden raisins and sunflower seeds. Great for summer cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Mmmmmmm, this was delicious! Used light mayo and halved grapes instead of the raisins. Only other thing I changed was to cut up about 4 slices of Turkey bacon and fry it up with cooking spray since it really doesn't crumble like the real stuff. Even so, it was delightful! I made it early in the day and let it sit in the fridge until dinner, so the flavors really had a chance to meld. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Not good, not bad, just so-so. Entire family didn't care of this salad. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I took the advice of many other reviews and made this a day ahead, but I liked it best when it was first made! One thing I missed was cheese! Next time I will be adding that! Also, since I don't like raisins, I added cranberry raisins instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States