Fresh Blueberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I found a sale on fresh blueberries..3.99 for 2 whole pounds?!? I got 6lbs total. Not wanting to waste the whole idea of fresh blueberries and taint the health factor too...I came across this recipe which allowed me to enjoy my fresh blueberries along with this SUPER easy and tasty recipe! I was impressed. I usually tweak every recipe I use, but I didn't do anything to this one and it was great. I did have really sweet blueberries so next time I might increase lemon and/or reduce sugar. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
great! I cooked ALL the blueberries and doubled the ingredients that go in the saucepan. Also added cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLEGHOST

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
It was a good recipe. I used wild blueberries which have quite a lot more juice that the domestic ones. I needed to add some cornstarch to thicken it properly. I also made up the filling and cooled it then put it into mini fillo shells with a whipped cream topping. It makes the filling go father and is nice for when you only have a small amount of wild berries and a lot of people who want a taste. Those wild blueberries are a lot of work to pick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
We loved this pie! The mix of fresh and cooked berries gives you the best of both worlds. I took the tip from some other reviews and added a little cinnamon and vanilla. I also adjusted the sugar based on the ripeness of the berries. Next time, I am going to add the top crust to help hold the berry filling together. It set up nicely, but it crumbles easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jules
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
such a great pie! this was my first time making blueberry pie with fresh berries over frozen, and it makes such a great different. i used a star cookie cutter to make stars for the top pie crust and placed them on top after adding the filling. it turned out beautiful. everyone at the 4th of july picnic loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I can bake almost anything but the art of pie baking eludes me until this one. My husband, who is my biggest critic, LOVED this pie. So easy and comes out great. I used fresh for the bottom layer and frozen for the cooked layer and it was wonderful. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 88gurl
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this pie last night and it was excellent! I'm not a baker at all but this turned out wonderful using ready-made pie crusts. I bought 2 bottom crusts and used one as the top crust. I modified the recipe by adding in some strawberries and cinnamon. I baked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes and set aside to cool. I cooked the pie filling using 2 cups of frozen blueberries (thawed, rinsed and drained) and 1 cup of fresh, sliced strawberries. I followed recipe exactly except for adding in 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I put the fresh blueberries into the bottom crust then poured the cooked filling on top, put on the top crust and baked for another 15 minutes until browned. I served it with whipped cream. It was delicious! My daughter, who claimed she didn't like pie, gobbled up a whole piece! I chose this recipe because it didn't use cornstarch. The filling tasted very fresh and the fresh blueberries were still firm and just popped in your mouth. Next time I think I'll reduce the sugar just a bit and I might even try my hand at making my own pie crust. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 88gurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Homewood, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was the first time I've ever made blueberry pie. The only blueberry pie I've eaten is store-brought, and this was better. I never liked the overly-sweet, pudding-consistency texture of pies, and this was not too sweet, nor too gooey. I loved actually tasting the blueberry. Ate it with vanilla ice cream, and it was too delicious for words. I scarfed it down, and so did my brother, who usually calls my baking . He didn't even try to disguise his pleasure this time, asking me to bake another one. I followed suggestions and used a teaspoon of cinnamon, plus half-teaspoons of vanilla and almond extract. Now, I was slightly puzzled on how to put a top-pie-crust on it. The recipe doesn't describe baking. So after I finished all the instructions, I baked the pie for ten minutes at 450 degrees F - with a top lattice-strip crust. It didn't affect the rest of the pie too much. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This pie is so simple to make and delicious! My family gobbled it up! I will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
The taste was wonderful, however, when cooking the blueberries, the flour, butter and lemon juice mixture was so thick and did not loosen even when the blueberries started to pop. I added more butter and lemon juice and it helped. Next time I will not use as much flour. But, I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States