Fresh Blueberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This "Fresh Blueberry Pie II" was suberb! A very easy recipe to follow, and the pie turned out great. I did take some hints from other reviewers: Added 1/4 tea.of vanilla & almond extracts along with the same amt. of cinnamon-bumped up the lemon juice to double. The sugar, butter & flour stayed the same. I took the pie to a BBQ and these are some comments that were made. Wow..Fantastic..You made this?!.. Can I get the recipe?..Thanks to Nancy Fields for her great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a really good blueberry pie. It was super easy to make too. I did add a top crust, and because I had to throw it in the oven with the blueberries to bake the top crust, I think it detracts a little bit from the consistency of the fresh/not cooked berries, because they get cooked a little bit in the oven. But it was still delicious, and I think that adding the top crust makes it better, so I would do it the same next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This recipe made me learn to like blueberries. I do adjust the sugar according to the sweetness of the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was awful! It was very tart. My blueberries were very good, I ate some as I washed them. There wasn't enough filling for a 8 in pie. The directions were unclear. The picture shows a pie with a top. Some reviewers gave directions for a top. It was a disaster and I had company over for dessert. Luckily I made some cookies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Easy and great. Few changes to make 5+. Used 2 & 1/2 c cooked blueberries and 1/2 c raw. 1/4 t vanilla and almond extract. 1/4 t cinnamon & only 1/2 T flour. Topped with a lsttice crust and baked 15 minutes at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Misleading. This is not a pie recipe afterall. Very unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I can't understand how the pie in the picture can be the pie in the recipe since the shell was baked beforehand and there was no baking after the fruit was poured into the pie shell??? My husband and I were disappointed with this. The taste was fine but it was basically like a bunch of blueberries on a pie shell with a little sauce. I had never made a fruit pie before but I have made fruit toppings for cheesecake and I think that it would've helped this recipe if half of the blueberries would've been cut in half instead of left whole. I will keep looking for a blueberry pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
The taste is fantastic and very fresh. I tried this as a double crust pie, though, and it didn't work for me. It was full of liquid and I ended up pouring it over ice cream like a sauce. The taste is so yummy though that I plan to try it again but making it as the recipe describes. I'm sure it will work better that way. UPDATE: I changed my rating to 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly and it was outstanding! Even my husband who dislikes blueberries loved this pie. I plan on making it all summer while the blueberries are plentiful and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for Father's day and it was SO delicious. It's 4 stars because the instructions were not clear and that made me feel very insecure while making the pie. If anyone else is lost and is using a top pie crust as well, this is what I did: 1. I laid a 9inch pre-made Pillsbury pie crust in a glass pie pan, baked it at 350 degrees for 10 minutes BEFORE EVERYTHING. 2. Pulled it out of the oven and poured a box of blueberries in the semi-baked shell. 3. Combined the rest of the ingredients in a sauce pan, including the remaining 2pints of blueberries. 3. Cooked it for lower heat until the sauce pan was high in blueberry sauce. You can add cinnamon or vanilla if you want. 4. Poured it on top of the uncooked blueberries in the pie, added a top criss-cross pie layer and baked it at 450 for about 11-13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
YUMMY! I followed other reviewers' suggestions at adding some cinnamon, and it was absolutely delicious! My husband is not a big fruit pie fan (except for apple), and he tasted this and said "WOW! That is GOOD!" He even commented later that evening AGAIN how good this pie was. I've only made a few pies in my time (mostly pumpkin), and this one was easy to make, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States