Fresh Berry Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this for the first time today, with raspberries from our garden. It's moist and tasty and I'll make it again. The reasons I didn't give it 5 stars; as others have mentioned, the batter wasn't pourable, I had to add some milk to thin it, and next time I'll incorporate the berries into the batter, rather than layer them, because layering them results in berry overload in some spots and no berries in others. I also omitted the pecans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Shayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Murphy5
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Great use of fresh blackberries! I subbed vanilla yogurt for the sour cream, and then only needed to use 1 tsp. of vanilla. Also followed other's suggestions and only used 1 cup of pecans. I layered mine in reverse order (batter, berries & nuts, batter, berries & nuts) and put it in an 8" x 11" pan. I also added a little butter, brown sugar, and flour to the nuts on top to make a crumb topping. Everyone loved it, and it looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used a mixture of raspberries and blackberries. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Volga, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was an incredible coffee cake. I made it just as it was written and it came out perfect. As one other had mentioned it isn't pourable but I just spooned the dough onto the fruit and nuts and it turned out lovely. I will definitely add this to my regular cakes :^) Thank you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
DO NOT USE 2 CUPS OF FROZEN RASPBERRIES as it makes it too wet . My mistake for sure. Also the batter is way too thick it's like a thick muffin batter. Next time I will certainly thin it down with a bit of milk. Taste was very good....I wound up with raspberry floating cake lol....again my fault..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I cut this in half for just me my husband..the batter is thick, and obviously does not "pour" so I mixed the berries around with the batter in the pan and spread it to the edge.. I used lemon juice instead of milk for the glaze.. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The cake had no flavor and the texture did not go well with the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This coffee cake is tender, moist and not too sweet. The whole family loved it. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Klein Stratton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
The batter was too thick. Followed the recipe to the letter and didn't have enough batter to finish filling my bundt pan, even after I thinned it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Ok recipe, but something was off... I used frozen raspberries and walnuts instead of pecans. I didn't have any particular problems with the consistency or the process, I just didn't like the taste. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States