Fresh Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this to use up some asaparagus I had and wow was I impressed! I had to make a couple minor changes to make it OK for my son who has a severe dairy allergy, but nothing that I think changed the original intention/taste of the recipe by much. I substituted dairy free butter, almond milk, and I served his portion before I stirred in the yogurt (of which I used sour cream since I only had flavoured yogurt on hand). Also, I added an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of broth in the blender because it was too thick to puree properly. My picky 1.5 year old loved it. My 15 year old LOVED it. My husband and I loved it. My only complaint about this recipe is that it didn't make enough for leftovers! Next time I'm doubling the recipe. ***BTW, adding sriracha sauce took it over the top for my teenager. The flavours work awesome together and it didn't take away from the asparagus taste at all. Thank you so much for this, I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Even my 4 year old likes this, and indeed requests it! Super easy, super creamy, super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
great for asparagus that is just starting to wilt. Delish way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This soup was absolutely delicious. I substituted coconut milk for regular milk and soy sour cream for regular to make it vegan. It was fabulous! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is the best asparagus soup recipe ever. It's easy to make and the results are extraordinarily delicious. Make sure you wash, double wash, triple wash your asparagus to get the tenacious sand off of your asparagus or you'll have grit in your otherwise perfect soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This soup is really easy and really good. I followed the recipe as given except for leaving out the yogurt and cheese and using oil instead of butter (due to a milk allergy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peggycuriel
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This soup is great :) I used organic, low sodium vegetable stock. I also substituted soy milk for 2% milk and it came out great!! The yogurt gives it a beautiful texture!! It's my new, go-to recipe for asparagus soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wow, this is a REALLY good soup. I made this using asparagus from my mom's garden — she brought me a bunch and I was not sure what to do with it. Like other reviewers, I used regular milk (2%) and chicken broth, because that is what I had on hand. It is so amazing. I am on my second bowl. P.S. My mom showed me that if you peel the lower portion of the asparagus with a vegetable peeler (just the last couple of inches or so), it won't be stringy. Works for plain asparagus, and also a good tip for the soup. Thanks for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This soup is silky and light and very tasty. Immersion blender helped with the blending.. much better than a regular blender. Would not hesitate to offer it to my guests at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I used water instead of vegetable broth because i didn't have any on hand and so I had to add little bit of chicken bouillon to give it some more flavor. it was a little grainy even though I pureed it in the blender for a long time. Maybe it had to do with the asparagus. Other than that, my dad loved it and it was a healthy soups (sans the butter) that I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States