Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Yummy summertime casserole! I used greek plain yogurt in place of sourcream because thats what I had on hand. I only had 5 ounces of it so I guestimated the difference by adding milk and flour. The sauce was watery and I should have tweaked it more before putting it all together in the oven. I didn't have celery either so added some green bell peppers. I also added garlic, red pepper flakes, lemon pepper, cumin. My husband and I enjoyed this casserole and he had seconds which is saying something. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Seriously D'lish especially with what you have in your fridge which is what I had to do. I used Chicken Breast Tenders that I sauteed in Garlic, Onion and EVOO. I then Simmered the Asparagus, Celery and Carrot together with chicken stock and a lil more EVOO, and a splash of balsamic vinaigrette. I cooked up the egg noodles and when they were done I only had less than a 1/2cp nonfat sour cream so I improvised and added 2 tbs of Mayo with olive oil to the sour cream. I mixed the veggie/chicken mixture in with the egg noodles, added a dash of celery salt and placed in my pampered chef's baking dish and sprinkled lowfat colby/jack cheese about 1/2 cp, and a scattering of parm on top. I then topped it with Paprika for lil spice and color. I baked at 350 for 25 min and let it set out for 5 min before serving. Served with a salad of romaine and green lettuce and chunks of tomatoes with Balsamic Vinaigrette. This was very filling, and my five yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I found this absolutely flavorless. In the end I had to add a can of cream of mushroom soup to save this. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish - I made just a few changes from the original. I had just over 1.5 lbs of chicken (Perdue breasts) which I partially cooked on the stove in a little bit of olive oil (I did season the chicken w/ salt, pepper, & a little paprika). Then cut into pieces and added to celery/peppers (I used green, not red)/onion mixture. I did use a chicken bouillion to make broth and didn't find the dish too watery at all. I also added garlic powder to the mixture. Mixed everything into a 9 x 12 pyrex (didn't "layer). Then cooked as suggested. My asparagus was thin to begin with so came out very nice after 30 min in the oven. I didn't get the celery and probably wouldn't include it again. Probably overdid it on the parmesan, but we like cheese in this family :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenessa French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was really delicious! I used carrots instead of the red peppers and for liquid used a can of cream of chicken soup, a half cup of milk and about a half cup of sour cream. I cooked it for about 40 minutes and it turned out great. Even the cat liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My whole family liked this receipe even my finicky 7 year old. The only exception to the receipe is that I didn't have sour cream so I used Cream of Mushroom Soup. As well next time I would saute the asparagus a bit in the chicken broth before baking - it was far to crispy for our taste buds. But overall everyone said a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe, except it's missing something that would make it 5 stars, maybe some mushrooms or some other spice; I'm not sure since I am just starting out. I added some garlic and used fat-free sour cream, but it still needs more. My husband liked it, and he doesn't usually like asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was just okay. A good way to clean out the fridge, but I'm not keeping this in my permanent file. I did add a splash of white wine, minced garlic, and a can of mushrooms to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States