Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Oh My! Used my canned chicken stock with fresh herbs from my garden. Added lots of homegrown garlic, and some creme cheese to the sour creme to make one cup. Added fresh basil leaves and topped with with Asiago cheese and french fried onions (from another reviewer) Thanks for posting this great recipe. Oh the chicken was grilled the night before. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Philbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe has potential but as is isn't great. I did not add the chicken broth because most reviews stated it was watery. I went with just the sour cream and added a packet of Swanson's Flavor Boost. However that was not enough and the noodles dried out. I'm thinking maybe a combination of sour cream and cream of chicken soup would be adequate. I don't think the layering is necessary and if I make it again I would mix everything together and top with Parmesan to bake. The finished product was not bland but was not creamy and comforting either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Time intensive with all the chopping, which I wouldn't have minded if it was worth it. Bland, watery, and really a disappointment overall. Just tried to eat it again for lunch, thinking maybe it would help to have it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made it per the recipe it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My version came out very dry. The recipe bake time is way too long. If the chicken is already pre-cooked as suggested, the bake time should be cut in half. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I was very disappointed with this casserole. It was very bland/boring. The only thing that saved us was a Caesar salad and bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I tried really hard to make this work...I love all the ingredients in it and thought the concept was great...but I wont be making this again. First off, there is a LOT of prep involved, and if I am going to be dirtying 3 pans and doing that much chopping--it better be worth it!! I made it just as recipe said, but befor putting in oven I tasted the chicken mixture and it was bland, like many other reviewers commented. So I added basil, more oregano, garlic salt, and ground pepper. We also sprinkle top with french fried onions during last 10 minutes of bake time. Unfortunately, the final product was still underwhelming. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great recipe..no leftovers. Will have to mske double batch next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was absolutely bland. I added salt/pepper as we were eating it. I used fresh asparagus which was al dente and that was ok as I don't like overcooked asparagus. I had leftover chicken and fresh asparagus which is why I decided to make this as well as lots of sour cream I wanted to use but I don't think I'll make this again as it really wasn't that special. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is a really good recipe, especially with fresh asparagus. I didn't have a red bell pepper, so I left that out. I added a cup of shredded 4 cheese mix to the "wet ingredients" and I sprinkled another cup of it on the top before I put it in the oven. And I didn't fiddle with layers. I put the cooked pasta (bow ties) on the bottom of the greased casserole and combined all the other ingredients and poured them over the noodles. After 30 min @350F it was golden and YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grunky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia

Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States