Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
Excellent and easy. A few changes though. I omitted peppers, added 1/2 cup white wine after sautéing onion and added asparagus with celery & chix stock. I also added 1/2 tsp. rosemary, salt and pepper (maybe more, I didn't measure) with the sour cream. I then added prepared rice to the mixture (no layering) and blended in fresh parm cheese and some swiss, and finally a little more of both cheeses on top to bake in stoneware casserole dish. Some complained it was too bland but my stock is well seasoned which probably helped the overall flavor. Both kids (4 & 7) had seconds - not a regular occurrence. Thanks, we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
We thought this was a great recipe. It is refreshing to find a nice cassarole that does not use canned soup. Unexpected guests dropped in and they loved it. I did need to use a 2 quart dish and since I did not have celery on hand I left it out. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I agree with everything Mama Cass said and more. It was runny, the asparagus was hard, and it was bland due to the layering. I will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Nice flavor, but the asparagus was hard as a rock -- need to cook before adding. Also very runny. Perhaps better to add cream of chicken soup instead of chicken stock? I would also recommend mixing everything together rather than layering to keep the noodles moist and would use salt, pepper, and parmesan in the casserole as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Bland. Needed salsa to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Tasty mild flavor! I enjoyed it, my husband thought it was bland, mabye next time I'll add the oregano a little earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
i didn't have red pepper, so i added chopped tomatoes instead, plus lots of mushrooms. good, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Very easy and quick to prepare and cook. Tasty and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKI JO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This was a bit of a disappointment. It smelled so good while it was cooking, but the end flavor was somewhat bland. I added parmesan cheese while it was cooking, but that didn't quite do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federalsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
It really wasnt' that good. Not enough flavor and too soupy. Maybe would be better with cream of mushroom soup instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States