Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I used cream of mushroom soup and a little milk instead of the chicken broth as others said it was runny. I cooked the asparagus for about 10-15 mins before I put it in the casserole and it was still a little hard. Next time I think I would use another veggie like broccoli. The flavor was ok but it felt like something was missing, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This dish was scrumptious. I followed the changes that Shannon C suggested in her review. I made this the night before to take to a pot luck dinner. I had used 12 ounces of noodles because it’s what I had on hand and also used Cream of Celery soup. The mixture seemed too thick before putting it in the oven so I lightened it up with some more sour cream. When taste tasting it, I discovered that this recipe was delicious cold. I decided to go ahead and cook it as per the recipe. However, my sister-in-law and I both agreed that this dish was better cold than hot. I will continue to make this recipe, but only as a cold salad. This will make a lovely addition to my salad luncheons during the warm months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I seasoned my chicken with garlic, season salt and pepper prior to cooking. If you dont season your chicken, I imagine this dish would be very bland. I did steam my asparagus for a few minutes so that it was nice and tender. I assembled the casserole the nite before I intended to bake it, and just added the cheese when I was ready to pop it in the oven. It was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This recipe was scrumptious! It got rave reviews by my family and will become a regular addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This was great! I listened to others and steamed the asparagus first and added some pepper and extra locatelli cheese when serving. Thanks for a truly wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a great meal when slightly altered, even my picky hubby liked it. I boiled the chicken to cook it, and added 2 boulion cubes. I used that as my chicken stock. I also boiled the asparagus for a few minutes in the stock, before adding it to the mix. I sauted the celery with the onion and added 2 cloves of garlic. I also added salt, pepper and basil along with the oregeno. My biggest diversion from the recipe was the addition of cream of mushroom. When I added the sour cream, it became very grainy and watery, so the cream of mushroom definitely helped. I think any cream of would do. I mixed everything together, and didn't layer it as described. finally, I topped it with a fancy shredded parm and romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is a great recipe and not difficult to make. I followed some of your reviews & added some garlic, salt & pepper. Also steamed the asparagus before putting in the casserole. It tasted just as good when we had the leftovers for tea the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Great recipe that's a bit different. I too made some changes. Microwaved the asparagus just a bit to soften somewhat, also added garlic salt, basil instead of oregano. Along with the parmesan cheese some shredded Monterey Jack as a topping as well as the first layer, this also helps thicken sauce. I think you can adjust this even more with any spices or veggies that appeal to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I had never had fresh asparagus before trying this recipe. Now I can't go back to canned! My husband loved this recipe. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I made this for my in-laws 3/2005 and the raves were great! Nothing left afterwards, everyone devoured it. A very simple recipe, quick and easy. I did use a multiple cheese blend with the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNHEARTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upper Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States