Fresh Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great cake. Very "old-fashioned" taste and texture. It does make a large cake, though; the batter was going to overflow my 10-inch bundt pan, so I carefully poured the batter into a deeper tube pan (hard to do with a very full silicon bundt pan...) and the finished cake rose high over the rim of the tube pan! I used four Granny Smith apples, switched the proportions of white vs. whole-wheat flour (probably making a denser cake), and used brown sugar to "stew" the apples. Didn't need any frosting. I'm giving a quarter of the cake to the guys who shoveled my walk today! Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This recipe is now a holiday favorite with my family and friends. I bake it in an angel food cake pan and it works great! In my opinion, it serves more than 14. We eat it for breakfast as well as dessert. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
A really nice cake.. rises well, and is very dense..would be great as a muffin for the morning as well. As with all the recipes I find on here...I always customize to my liking, with this one I upped the nutmeg to a full tsp for the batter. When I cooked the apples I added another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the mixture and included a Tbsp of orange zest as well. It went over great, but since I am not a huge fan of raisins..next time I will leave them out, and add 5 or 6 cups of apples. This will add moisture to the cake, which is a tad heavy ..not necessarily dry, and it will give you more apple in every bite..YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaT-bird34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This cake is wonderful! Just the thing for a breakfast cake in place of muffins. I added cinnamon to the apples, used all brown sugar in the cake batter, switched the proportions of wheat to white flour. I baked it in a 9 x 13 glass cake dish, topped with oatmeal streusel, for 20 mins at 400 and turned the heat down to 325 for 55 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Excellent bundt cake...even better with cream cheese frosting. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
really yummy! Beautiful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made some alterations, it still tasted GREAT! (At first I thought, 'This looks like a lot of work.' And, 'What's a tube pan?' I didn't want to wait an hour and a half to be able to eat it so I made muffins with it & THAT only took about 26 minutes wait. ;) It really wasn't THAT much work & SURE WAS WORTH IT! (After consulting with my mother, we suspect a "tube pan" is like a bundt cake pan.) OH! PS 3/8 CUP = 6 TABLESPOONS . . . right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was very good. I put cream cheese icing on the cake. I did use less butter and added some of my homemade apple sauce. A good recipe to use up some apples off of my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMLOISPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
WOW!! This cake is so great, you just have to try it! I did make one change...I didn't have ground cloves, so I added an extra tsp of cinnamon. This HUGE cake bakes to a very dark color and has a very moist texture. I made a simple glaze using milk and powdered suger which I drizzled over the top. PERFECT PERFECT...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! This one is definitely going into my permanent recipe box! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I added an extra 1/2 tsp of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves and I added a 1/2 tsp of allspice. I was afraid it would be too dry, but it turned out really good. It wasn't a moist cake, but it wasn't too dry either. The flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Yantai, Shandong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States