Fresh Apple Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I thought this cake was very good. The cake is very dense, almost like bread, so it tasted great with a little butter on it and a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
yum! and yes, you do use MARGARINE IF: you are eating this dessert with a meat dish... KOSHER meals do not mix meat and dairy!!! and if you are vegan, or lactose intolerant or you do not want to be 40 pounds overweight.. =) FYI, i used palm oil shortening found at whole foods and my local co-op. no saturated trans fat nor animal fat from butter. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melinda Cuenin Kovatch
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this cake today .. I must say I love it .. I used a variety of Apples .. Hubby and Mom want me to add Nuts next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love spice cake like none other and after moving I just didn't have enough room for all my apples I canned last year, so this sounded great to me. I didn't have any wheat flour so I just used all purpose instead and I did my spices more like I would for an apple pie. I also used some of my canned spiced apple cider instead of water - AMAZING FLAVOR!!! I also followed someone elses tip about baking it in a 9x13 pan (20 min @ 400 followed by 55 min @ 325). Turned out so delicious! Moist yet dense. A little milk/powered sugar glaze on top and it's so worth the effort. Wonderful for dessert or as a breakfast cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
A really nice cake.. rises well, and is very dense..would be great as a muffin for the morning as well. As with all the recipes I find on here...I always customize to my liking, with this one I upped the nutmeg to a full tsp for the batter. When I cooked the apples I added another 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the mixture and included a Tbsp of orange zest as well. It went over great, but since I am not a huge fan of raisins..next time I will leave them out, and add 5 or 6 cups of apples. This will add moisture to the cake, which is a tad heavy ..not necessarily dry, and it will give you more apple in every bite..YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaT-bird34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great cake. Very "old-fashioned" taste and texture. It does make a large cake, though; the batter was going to overflow my 10-inch bundt pan, so I carefully poured the batter into a deeper tube pan (hard to do with a very full silicon bundt pan...) and the finished cake rose high over the rim of the tube pan! I used four Granny Smith apples, switched the proportions of white vs. whole-wheat flour (probably making a denser cake), and used brown sugar to "stew" the apples. Didn't need any frosting. I'm giving a quarter of the cake to the guys who shoveled my walk today! Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was very good. I put cream cheese icing on the cake. I did use less butter and added some of my homemade apple sauce. A good recipe to use up some apples off of my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMLOISPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I listened to the other reviews and doubled the spices on the recipes which made it very tasty. I also used cream cheese frosting to melt on the top and allow to drizzle down (right after removing from pan). The cake itself is good with or without the frosted top but is rather dense and BIG. A small piece was rather filling for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Excellent bundt cake...even better with cream cheese frosting. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I made some alterations, it still tasted GREAT! (At first I thought, 'This looks like a lot of work.' And, 'What's a tube pan?' I didn't want to wait an hour and a half to be able to eat it so I made muffins with it & THAT only took about 26 minutes wait. ;) It really wasn't THAT much work & SURE WAS WORTH IT! (After consulting with my mother, we suspect a "tube pan" is like a bundt cake pan.) OH! PS 3/8 CUP = 6 TABLESPOONS . . . right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States