Fresh Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this cake it's delish. If you used fresh veg. oil it should not have any foul odor. Mine smells of cinnamon and apples. It was done in 1 hour. Going to use a thinned down cream cheese (homemade) frosting and drizzle down the cake. I also added 1/4 cup water because the batter seemed too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Thanks for the recipe Carolyn! Pretty east to put together and the cake had a nice texture and flavor. I cut oil to 1 C and added 1/2 C applesauce. Skipped the creamcheese frosting and used powdered sugar. I used 3 GrannySmith apples for this. Baked in a 9 x 13 pan for 50 minutes @ 325. Going in the rotation! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This cake has become a family favorite! I did follow what some others had done. 1 cup of oil, 1/2 cup applesauce, increased cinnamon to 1tsp, and omitted raisins & nuts per my kids request. I did make my own cream cheese frosting recipe that I use on my carrot cake and red velvet. Perfectly moist bundt cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcarolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Luv this recipe...I had some friends over for high tea and this was a wonderful accompaniment. Everyone enjoyed it...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chae's Aphrodisiac Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have made this cake at least 8 times and each time is the best cake to date, it stays moist with the fresh apples and simply incredible. I have not changed a single item except I do not ice this cake it is fine without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
easy to make tast great. great for those who do not like the icing or glaze which includes one of my grandsons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summriv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Rogers, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Just like my Great Aunt Billie made. I made two cakes because some people do not like the nutmeg but it brought back memories of going to my and Great Aunt Billie would bring this to the party grandpas house on his birthday. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Burton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This cake is delicious. I did not make any alterations to the recipe and it came out perfect the first time I made it. I am baking another one today. I definitely will be adding this to my collection of Fall/Thanksgiving recipes. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
nice recipe...was looking for a way to get rid of my apples and bake using my Nuwave oven...and this recipe sounded the best. I modified it a bit. I added 1/2 cup of water because the dough was to hard for me to mixed but the water helped a bit. (However, cake looks like it could have been even better without extra water, probably cooking time would have been lower) Also, didn't have walnuts around, so couldn't add it. Cooked it for 40-45 mins on Nuwave oven. Checked with a knife (didn't have a toothpick). Let it stand for a few minutes before eating. Used 10 inch pan and cooked it on the 1 inch rack for Nuwave users. Cake rose a lot compare to what i was expecting though, but didn't go over the pan. Loving this recipe and the Oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cake was a hit with everyone. It's an unusual cake--a lot of "stuff" (apples, walnuts, and raisins) and the cake holds it all together, like a chunky fruit cake but much better. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used only 1 cup of oil. I didn't add any applesauce because I didn't have any. I cooked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 45-50 minutes, which I felt was a tad too long. I was waiting for the cake to pull away from the sides, but by the time that happened the cake was a little overdone. Next time I'll try 35-40 minutes and undercook it by a couple of minutes. Don't disgrace this cake with storebought icing--make your own! Cream Cheese Frosting II from this website goes great with this cake, only cut the amount of cream cheese in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States