Fresh Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Jessica...I just wanted to thank you for sharing this AMAZING recipe!! I used a 13x9 inch pan instead, and it turned out absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it, and I will definitely share this recipe with everyone! Ps...the caramel frosting was to die for! I think I will use it as a dip for granny smith apple slices. Pps...in the ingredients, you don't mention baking powder, but in the directions you do. I used 1/2tsp...turned out fine. Try putting a slice in the microwave for a minute - yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
WHAT A JEWEL OF A CAKE. THIS IS A WONDERFUL MOIST CAKE. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO THE T AND YOU WILL NOT FAIL. ONLY THING IS. IF I WERE YOU I WOULD DOUBLE THE CARAMEL ICING RECIPE BECAUSE YOU WILL EAT 1/3 OF IT BEFORE YOU GET IT ON THE CAKE. I USED REAL BUTTER IN THE ICING INSTEAD OF THE FAKE STUFF. BELIEVE ME IT MAKES A DIFFERENT IN TASTE. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Very good! Everyone who has tried this has enjoyed it. I did add 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the cake for additional flavor. Also baked it in a 9 x13 pan for approximately 55 - 60 minutes. If you want to tone down the sweetness, top with whip cream or ice cream instead of the frosting. Delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This is a wonderful, rich, moist cake. I brought it to a ladies' tea and I had people begging me for the recipe! I made it in a bundt cake form (which took twice as long to cook) and then drizzled the icing over the top and poured the rest down the middle. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Bourke, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was such a great dessert! My family loved it! I made it for thanksgiving. Howvever, I did sub. 1 cup of apple sauce for the oil and used only 1/4 cup of oil instead. I also had to cook it for about 5-10 mins longer. Other than that it was so good, every family will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
OMG!!! This recipe is awesome! I made it and shared some with my neighbors because they gave me all these apples and they had to have the recipe. The only thing is I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and since I had no walnuts I left them out. I've made this cake twice this week. This is a definite keeper, I hope Jessica sees this thanks, Jessica. Thanks for sharing. Signed, The Grinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Branch, Indiana, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Made in long 9x13 pan. Final taste very good however don't attempt to make this in layers. Very heavy cake and batter is like cookie dough. Carmel topping is very tasty but not "frosting" at all. This makes a great single layer coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
absolutely incredible! I used 6 Macintosh apples and 2 cups of chopped walnuts - it took about 45 minutes to cook. Otherwise the recipe was perfect, and the cake was a huge hit. It's been requested by many that I make it again next week for another party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I made this last night for Rosh Hashonah dinner and it was a major hit. Not at all like the apple cakes I had grown up with. I followed the suggestions of others and added cinnamon to the recipe and a little more apples than suggested. WOW! Moist, delicious and the caramel icing just took it up a notch (to quote someone else). This one is a keeper and will be used year round. Thanks Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spiceoflife
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My husband loved this cake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States