Fresh Apple Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This is a wonderful, rich, moist cake. I brought it to a ladies' tea and I had people begging me for the recipe! I made it in a bundt cake form (which took twice as long to cook) and then drizzled the icing over the top and poured the rest down the middle. Yummm!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Bourke, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
Very good! Everyone who has tried this has enjoyed it. I did add 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the cake for additional flavor. Also baked it in a 9 x13 pan for approximately 55 - 60 minutes. If you want to tone down the sweetness, top with whip cream or ice cream instead of the frosting. Delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Jessica...I just wanted to thank you for sharing this AMAZING recipe!! I used a 13x9 inch pan instead, and it turned out absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it, and I will definitely share this recipe with everyone! Ps...the caramel frosting was to die for! I think I will use it as a dip for granny smith apple slices. Pps...in the ingredients, you don't mention baking powder, but in the directions you do. I used 1/2tsp...turned out fine. Try putting a slice in the microwave for a minute - yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Wonderful cake and so moist. I added 1 tsp. of baking powder and 1 tsp. cinnamon to recipe. Cake is so moist. I also baked in a tube pan and works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This was _ok_, nothing more. It makes a VERY heavy cake with a batter the texture just slightly more fluid than taffy. Baking took about 35 minutes in the suggested 8-inch round pans, which I layered. Followed recipe exactly with 1/2 tsp baking powder since its measurement is left out, and chopping the apples since it never tells you to do that. I find it too heavy and rich, but if that's what you want give it a go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
WHAT A JEWEL OF A CAKE. THIS IS A WONDERFUL MOIST CAKE. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO THE T AND YOU WILL NOT FAIL. ONLY THING IS. IF I WERE YOU I WOULD DOUBLE THE CARAMEL ICING RECIPE BECAUSE YOU WILL EAT 1/3 OF IT BEFORE YOU GET IT ON THE CAKE. I USED REAL BUTTER IN THE ICING INSTEAD OF THE FAKE STUFF. BELIEVE ME IT MAKES A DIFFERENT IN TASTE. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Gotta a lot of compliments on this cake. Everyone said it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I made this last night for Rosh Hashonah dinner and it was a major hit. Not at all like the apple cakes I had grown up with. I followed the suggestions of others and added cinnamon to the recipe and a little more apples than suggested. WOW! Moist, delicious and the caramel icing just took it up a notch (to quote someone else). This one is a keeper and will be used year round. Thanks Jessica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
absolutely incredible! I used 6 Macintosh apples and 2 cups of chopped walnuts - it took about 45 minutes to cook. Otherwise the recipe was perfect, and the cake was a huge hit. It's been requested by many that I make it again next week for another party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This cake was fantastic. Everyone loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States