Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Yum-eee. I switched this up a bit by reducing the sugars to 1C br. sugar and 1/2C white sugar (as I was going to add a glaze to the finished cake), replacing 1C of the flour with whole wheat flour and adding 1/4 tsp cardamom along with the cinnamon. And as dense as the batter was, it baked evenly and was done at 35 min (in a glass pan). Then, to gild the lily, I poured Caramel Frosting VI on top. Moist, apple-y... just plain delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe makes 6 mini loaf cakes. They turned out very moist and delicious, and they froze and thawed very well. Using them for the upcoming holidays for homemade gifts for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I've been making this cake for years. I love this cake and so does eveyone that tries it. I use half the amount of nuts (we dont care too much for nuts), but I add that same amount of raisins (we like the chewyness it gives). To top it off I brush a little melted margarine to the top of the cake and then sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar. Perfect! It's more like a coffee cake to me so it's perfect for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftgal1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Awesome apple cake! I omitted the nuts due to personal taste. I used four McIntosh apples with a fairly fine chop to obtain the desired four cups. In addition to the cinnamon, I added sprinkles of nutmeg, cloves, and pumpkin pie spice. The resultant cake was a beautful dark brown with a crackled appearance. The cake is beautifully moist and rich, with a spicy apple-y flavor. Great with Caramel Frosting VI from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
YUMMY!!!!!! I ADDED 1/8 TSP. EACH OF CLOVES, NUTMEG, AND GINGER IN ADDITION TO THE CINNAMON. SPECTACULAR CAKE. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
This was excellent. The batter is very thick. Will try with 1/2 cup less sugar next time. I grated the apples. Used the caramel glaze from Fresh Apple Cake III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
this recipe was the moistest apple cake i had ever made yet.it is delicious and very simple to make.my family loved it and so would yours.you must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Since its fall time here ,what a great way to eat tasty red delecious apple , the cake is moist and its tasty even without any frosting , this cake is awinner !! A++ and thanks for sharing CLARE......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
This is the best apple cake I ever made....Received lots of compliments and requests for the recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Wow! Got lots of "hum hum" from first bites on! Everyone went for seconds. An absolutely wonderful cake. I ommitted the nuts, but it still resulted in a really delightful cake. You must try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States