Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This cake certainly did not live up to the rave reviews I read here. I thought the cake was over-run by the vanilla extract. I used pink lady apples that we picked from the orchard, they were sweet and juicy. I added a tablespoon each of lemon and orange juices to the sugar/apples mix to keep the apples from browning and b/c some reviewers noted the cake was dry. The didn't hold together when done but that may have been b/c I didn't chop the apples very finely. I guess the biggest disappointment was the overwhelming vanilla taste. I'll not make this again. I want an apple cake that tastes like apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Made this the other day for my husband, loves it. Serve it warm with coolwhip. Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
THis recipe turned out great! I made it using two loaf pans and it is deliciuos! It stays so moist and it tasty warm and cold! My husband raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
VERY moist-eat quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I added 1/8 tsp. each ground cloves, ginger, and allspice. This is the best fresh apple cake I have ever made. It gets better each day, and I did not add any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This cake had great flavor, but it turned out very sticky and kind of fell apart in some places after I baked it. Here are the changes that I made: I baked it in a bundt pan, added 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 oil and 1/4 cup applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. I let it cool on a rack for about 3 hours and it still didn't come out of my VERY greased pan all the way. I think that if I make it again I will add more flour to bind it better and flour my pan along with the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Made this today with the fresh apples from our trees. The guys loved it. It's moist, loaded with apples, cake part bakes nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
The best apple cake i ever tasted. I did change 1 cup surgar for 1 cup splenda. It is just fantastic. God bless you for this recipe Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
this recipes was amazing and was finished in one day. i was a little hesistant at first when i was making it because i felt as if there was too much apple and too lil dough but in the end it worked out perfectly. soft apples. would of been even better w. a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce but that gets too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Delicious cake! I took this to an event and it was a hit. I used Cream Cheese Frosting II on this cake, but it would be good without frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States