Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is the best apple cake recipe! The cake was moist and not too sweet. Very tasty and easy to prepare. I followed this recipe exactly the way the author suggested and I was totally satisfied. I also think that using red apples adds to the moistness of the cake. I have tried it with Granny Smith Apples and it was pretty dry and lacked sweetness. Excellent RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Awesome apple cake! I omitted the nuts due to personal taste. I used four McIntosh apples with a fairly fine chop to obtain the desired four cups. In addition to the cinnamon, I added sprinkles of nutmeg, cloves, and pumpkin pie spice. The resultant cake was a beautful dark brown with a crackled appearance. The cake is beautifully moist and rich, with a spicy apple-y flavor. Great with Caramel Frosting VI from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A wonderful addition to my recipe box!!! A great desert to mark the beginning of fall! One of the best tasting I have ever made. Very moist and falvorful! This will defiantly be a family favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Excellent! Not exactly a cake, but tastes good no matter what you call it. To make it a bit healthier, I used 1/4 cup of veg oil and a 1/4 cup of applesauce as a substitute. Also cut the sugar by using 1 1/2 cup with the 1/2 cup coming from Splenda's brown sugar blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I used the french buttercreme frosting recipe I found on this site with this cake. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WCCLARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
We really loved this. We used probably too many apples. Also the pan we used was 8.5 x 11 pyrex. We wrapped wet dishtowels around the perimeter of the baking dish while it baked, to avoid uneven baking (so the edges won't overcook). Next time I will use exact amount of apples. Granny Smiths, tasted delicious. Oh,, I also added about a teaspoon of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
The cake turned out absolutely delicious! It was just as good straight from the oven as it was the following day after the spices had combined. To lighten up the cake, I used cinnamon sweetened apple sauce instead of oil. I also added a 1/3 cup of chopped dates. The cake was very moist and the cinnamon flavor really accentuated the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Thought this was a good recipe. I used 5 cups of jonagold apples and kept everything else the same even the sugar since i used more apples. it's a tad sweet but not too much so. I thought the sides and top were a little over cooked but I had to cook it for almost 55 minutes for the spring back action to take place. other than that, the inside is nice and moist and my husband thought it was really yummy. I think it would be good with some fresh whipping cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was good and may be better tomorrow, but it's not the best fresh apple cake I've had--it has a discernible baking soda taste. I used part brown sugar and part WW flour. I frosted with a brown sugar, powdered sugar, butter, & milk icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irina Zlatkina
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Very easy and tasty! I used 6 cups of diced apples, and a lemon zest instead of cinnamon. Baking time - 70 min. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irina Zlatkina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States