Fresh Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
great recipe! Lost my favorite apple cake recipe so tried this one. The key is using the right apples for the recipe. Use only cooking apples, not too sweet and not too watery. The info available at store. Used one tsp of cinnamon instead of 2. Used 1/2 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1/2 cup of oil. Only used one tsp of vanilla. Used pecans instead of walnuts and cut the apples thin and about 1/4 inch long. The mixing directions I followed perfectly. I made 2 cakes to share and one baked in 40 min. and one in 45. Just watch the cake. If not using right away be sure to ventilate when covered or gets a little moist on top. Only used cool whip for topping. Icing of some sort not needed. I will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I just made this for the first time, it's really moist and sweet. Great way to get rid of leftover apples, too. Easy and rather fast to make. I didn't use any frosting, just sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top. Served it when it was still a little warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, but I guess whipped cream will go well with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this cake for my family, it was delicous and very moist. It also smelled delicious when it's baking. Lovely x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I've used this recipe for years, as dessert with cream cheese frosting and, unfrosted, I serve it for breakfast. I noticed that another reviewer found the cake to be sticky. I've discovered that if you cover the cake overnight, even after being completely cooled, the top will be "sticky" the next morning - a result of the moisture in the apples, I assume. If I plan to serve it at breakfast the following morning, I leave it uncovered overnight. It doesn't dry out and the texture and appearance are more appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Love this simple apple cake. As written it is very, very good but because of our taste buds I subsitute half melted unsalted butter for some of the oil. Thanks for a great contribution and it also keep very, very well - but does not usually last too long!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
very awesome apple cake. I followed the directions as stated except I used 1/2cup brown sugar and 1 1/2 cup white sugar. Just perfect! Batter is very thick but it works and tastes great!! everyone had 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I have been baking this fresh apple cake for about 30 years and have given the recipe out to many people. This cake is a family favorite and it was just recently requested for a family member birthday coming in 2010. It is delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a very sticky cake and it was flat..I dont know what went wrong..seems no one else had this issue so it was probably my error..and I love to bake! Dont know what I did wrong but I will try it one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
We loved this. I just made half a recipe which was just right for the two of us. I used Jonathan apples but I still didn't use all the sugar it called for and it was very sweet. Next time I will try the butter/sugar/cinnamon sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States