Fresh Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is one of the best cakes I have ever tasted. I changed it just a little bit by adding 1/4 cup of olive oil (I don't use the extra virgin because the taste is a bit strong, but it also works). I also used half the cinnamon just because my husband is not crazy about it, but in the end I could still taste the cinnamon at just the right level. Instead of folding the walnuts in I sprinkled them over the top for presentation purposes only and it came out lovely. I shared the cake with relatives and then had to turn over this recipe shortly after. Thanks for sharing it with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelRoma
Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This cake is wonderful at breakfast or as a snack. I knew the apples I was using would stay firm and not give off a lot of moiture, so I added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt to the batter. It was moist but not soggy. The amount of sugar is perfect, and the same for the cinnamon. I didn't have the specified size pan, so I used a 10.5" cast iron pan without any problem. I love the glossy, deep golden color of this cake. It's old-fashioned in the best sense of the phrase. I wish I could tell you what it was like after being refrigerated, but it disappeared while it was still war,!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Although the flavor of this cake is good, it is very dry. The fresh apples add some moisture to the dry ingredients, but next time will add 3/4 Cup of buttermilk to the butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Everyone loved this cake! All I changed about this recipe is that I added 1/4 cup of applesauce and the moisture in the cake was perfect. My family is begging me to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I think this deserves higher than 5 star. In less than 5 days I have made 3 of these cakes and I had to use my bundt cake pan, but they are beautiful and oh so delicious. This is a real KEEPER for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I grated the peeled apple into the mixture and that really helped the texture and made it a bit more moist. It is an extremely flavoursome cake, and I baked mine with walnut halves on the top to mark out the slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was surprised I liked this cake so much, and that it came out as well as it did. A note: the cake batter is very thick and it almost comes out like brownie batter. When the cake bakes it's more like a coffee cake. It's very good though. Hope the info helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
My 3 year old grandson and I baked this wonderful cake today. I changed it up just a smigeon, my kids like it spicy. I added a pinch of nutmeg and allspice. I also followed anothers suggestion and added 1/2 cup of yogurt for moistness. It turned out wonderful! I am going to make this one again and again. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This recipe needs tweaking, but can come out very good. I doubled the recipe and used it for muffins instead. Instead of 2 cups apples, I used 2 large Granny Smith apples. It does come out TOO dry, so I added about 1/4th cup apple sauce. The resulting muffins were moist, and even better apple flavor. Great place to start, would be great with vanilla ice cream fresh out of the oven! Didn't need quite 45 min in the muffin tins, about 40. I omitted the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIXIERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I baked this deliciously, moist cake for all of the ladies at Game Day this week (except me, all of the ladies are above 70!!) and I was told it would be standard fare at all of Game Days. My husband attended this event and he is an "apple" person. Roses, roses, roses for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States