Fresco Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ochiquitita
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Delicious. We make salsa like this all the time but omitting the bell peppers in place of jalapeño for a spicy pico d Gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Fresh, light, and healthy with wonderful flavor - how can you go wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Good basic fresh salsa recipe. We like a little kick to our salsa; so we made a few additions. Added diced jalapenos (with and without seeds) and 1 tsp of minced garlic. Consider your desired level of spice when adding the jalapenos.. I added 4 diced peppers and that was perfect for us. Salsa is so flexible.. don't be afraid to experiment with your desired tastes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This salsa was so amazingly great and so fresh tasting ! I put it on the tacos I made ! Talk about a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
GREAT! I added just a bit of chopped jalepeno pepper to it. I'll make this one over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Delish! I added a few cloves of garlic, substituted a few jalapenos and an anaheim for the bell peppers, and omitted the cilantro. It's the best salsa I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I added some fresh herbs (basil, marjoraium, oregeno, & parsley) and dried hot peppers, and Louisianna hot sauce, and I used green peppers as that is all I had.....turned out very good with a nice kick. I did press some of the juice out before refrigerating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Gave this recipe 4 instead of 5 stars because it really does need the garlic that others mentioned. We had a bunch of garden tomatoes, and a bunch of unused cilantro from another recipe, so we searched for a salsa recipe that would use what we had. We did make a couple changes right off the bat - used green pepper instead of yellow, and we added a seeded jalepeno for some heat. We chopped everything in a food processor to make it a little "wetter". It was good the first night, but the flavors seemed to be missing a little something. You get a strong sweet taste at first, followed by the cilantro, and then the heat/acid. What was missing was garlic (as others have said). We added garlic and a little more salt before going to bed, and it is ALOT better today. Partly because of the time for the flavors to meld, and partly because this recipe really does need garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I love this salsa, it is by far my favorite!! easy to make !! We all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by upierce17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I added a a few cloves of fresh minced garlic, half teaspoon of ground cumin and a good amount fresh ground pepper. Because I like my salsa a little "wetter", I threw half of the diced tomatoes in the blender with half of the onion, one of the diced red peppers, half of the cilantro and the garlic. I pulsed it until it was the consistancy I was looking for, then folded the contents of the blender into the remaining salsa ingredients. Very tasty--one of the better homemade salsa's I've made! UPDATED REVIEW: I've made this twice now and I just can't get enough of it. I used some of this today in both a chicken and rice recipe AND a black bean/corn "salad" and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States