French Veggie Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Added an egg and omitted oil. Seemed questionable when mixing it but loved the result. My 2 and 4 year olds are it up and I loved the leftovers for breakfast. It's a cross between a quiche and a bread. All the veggies hidden in there will make this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beth
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Add 25 min to cooking...very soggy and uncooked. Less oil. More garlic, maybe some thyme. Might try broccoli next time. Very delicious and an unexpected surprise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Followed recipe except did not add the extra 1/3 C of oil, and it came out nice and soft, was finished at 45 minutes. I suggest adding about 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon salt to the veggies as they cook. I brushed butter on top before baking. My husband and I enjoyed it, but we both feel it needs herbs. Our 3-year-old didn't like it, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I took other reviewers tips and used about half the olive oil this recipe called for. I also added a little more garlic ( we love garlic) and had to cook it in a glass baking dish. This was very simple to make and delicious. I think the next time I make this I will use a sharp cheddar cheese instead. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this for the first time last weekend with some homemade pumpkin soup. They went great together. I think it needs more salt, but that is of course to taste. We are going to add diced jalapeno when I make it again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is good - needs a decent amount of salt added, though (1 1/2 tsp. I would say). I threw in some herbs as well for added flavour. Cooks well in 45 mins, could even take it out at 40. Used 4 eggs and no added oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I used gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAFAD
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Very good recipe to use your veggies. I didn't have Ny eggplant so I added more zucchini.. Used sharp cheddar and mozzarella and used a total of about 1/4-1/3 cup of olive oil. I baked mine in a casserole dish instead of in a casserole dish instead of in a loaf pan.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
So last night I ate it right out of the oven. Delish. Then I had it for lunch cold out of the fridge with some red pepper sauce on top, very quiche-like, but also delish. Now I'm eating it for dinner, sliced somewhat thin, butter on both sides, pan fried, with melted cheese on top. Not only delish, but the best thing EVER. Pan frying it really knocks it our of the park. I did make a few changes to the recipe though. I don't care for swiss so I used sharp cheddar and fresh romano, added some herbs (thyme, rosemary, etc), and did not add the extra oil to the batter. It absolutely does not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizzGlow
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this twice. I varied it by using pepper jack cheese the second time. Both efforts were outstanding and delicious. I increased (doubled it) the amount of oil used to sauteed the veggies and omitted the additional oil called for in the recipe and I used scallions instead of shallot. Rave reviews all my friends and family who sampled it. I also made mini loaves to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzGlow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States