French Veggie Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was wonderful. It is more like a cheesy bread loaf with vegetables (rather than a vegetarian version of meatloaf, which I was concerned it might be). The cheese makes it fantastic! It is more mild flavors so I found it better when paired with a strongly flavored side dish. I made it as written, next time I might try it with more bell peppers or even a jalepeno to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Really enjoyed the taste of the bread! Unfortunately 45 minutes at 375 was nowhere CLOSE to what I needed to bake it. I ended up baking it around 75 minutes and it still needed to be baked longer.(I have yet to do that). You might want to reduce the amount of oil in the bread. I make bread regularly and for the amount of flour this recipe calls for (along with the milk, 3 eggs and 1/3 cup of oil there is really too much moisture. A few tbls of oil is sufficient if used at all because the veggies will have oil and water from cooking. If you want a crispy crust pour a few tabls of melted butter on top of the loaf after pouring the batter into the loaf pan. Otherwise great flavor and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is tasty. I used some red onion instead of a shallot and had a little mexican blend cheese i used as well as a couple of wedges of laughing cow swiss cheese. I completely forgot to salt and pepper the veggie mixture and yes it needed it. Still good w/o it but next time I'll remember
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Amazing, it was delicious. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is one of my new favorite dishes. I must admit I've yet to make it the way the recipe advises though.... This dish lends itself very well to altering. My parents weren't too impressed with it (my dad is a big meat and potatoes guy) until I started pointing out all the leftover veggies in the bread. It's a great way to use up leftovers. I keep a tub in the freezer and stash whatever is left after dinner there. As long as the veggies I'm using are similar enough to the texture of the ingredients called for, it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I tried this today and substituted the courgette with mushrooms. Very tasty result and not breadlike at all. I will use a sharper cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
So good!! I added a pinch of tarragon and 1/8 tsp of dried thyme to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is great! I substituted a small onion for the shallot, and I also added some chives. My batter was quite thick. I brushed the top with butter the last few minutes of baking. Tastes delish. Would probably be good with different cheeses, but I used a good, strong Swiss, and it was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Really enjoyed this dish. It was a bit thick and not sure if it was suppose to be that thick or if I did something wrong. Substituted milk with soy milk and used vegan cheese. Was not sure about using egg replacer to make this totally vegan and opted to just use eggs this first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizzGlow
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this twice. I varied it by using pepper jack cheese the second time. Both efforts were outstanding and delicious. I increased (doubled it) the amount of oil used to sauteed the veggies and omitted the additional oil called for in the recipe and I used scallions instead of shallot. Rave reviews all my friends and family who sampled it. I also made mini loaves to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzGlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States