French Vanilla Slices (Mille-feuilles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have a vanilla bean or castor sugar so I followed an already tried-and-true recipe for pastry cream from here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pastry-cream-2/detail.aspx , which came out excellent. Followed the rest of this recipe and used raspberry preserves instead of apricot. Very good and my husband and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have made similar to this recipe for years now, but I precut the pastry before baking to a uniform size.This prevents breakage of pastry and the under-side is flatter which makes stacking easier.I also use less flour in the custard.Hope this helps others with assembling and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I really liked it i used heavy cream strawberrys, kiwis, and rasbarry jam, for the heavy cream i beat it till it had a firm shape added some powderd suger that was the filling spread some jam and added straberris and kiwis my hubby like them. so did i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
okay, so ihave made some changes.. i used 4 tbsp of flour. and i dip each baked pastry with meletd choc on the top. i used sliced strawberry instead of any other fruit used in the original recipe. turned out great..but a very bad looking dessert. all the pastry puffed and i cant put them in layers...the custard run down .....>.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I saw another mille feuille online which calls for lesser plain flour, I reduced the plain flour to 4 tbsp. I used only 2 sheets of frozen pastry and it took only 10-12mins to bake. My advise is to cut it into serving size before dusting the sugar. Overall, it was presentable and taste yummy and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I thought the custard tasted of flour. It wasn't very nice. Next time I will use a different pastry custard recipe. Overall, the dessert was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is one of my favorite deserts. I am from Canada, and a lot of my relatives make these when we go there. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States